Challenge #3 – Mystery Guest

On your birthday, instead of buying you a gift, your best friend has invited a mystery guest to your place for dinner. You’re stunned when you learn who it is.  Write about your experience with this guest in 250 words (or less).

It’s my birthday and everyone is here except Cynthia, my best friend number one.  Rachel, best friend number two, told me she was running a little late with my present, so I wasn’t worried.

When she arrived, instead of holding a gift, she brought my little sister Crystal.  She’d gained weight, but haven’t we all, and she was still barely five feet tall, but there was something else about her that gave her a down-on-her-luck kind of look.  I could only assume it had to do with the “boyfriend” she’d been living with for the past few years.

She didn’t smile, in fact she looked grouchy.  Cynthia couldn’t have forced her to come, she was too nice for that, so Crystal had to have traveled the eight-hour car ride of her own free will.  As I had no idea she was coming, I took offence to her attitude.  So, I asked her why she’d come.

It would seem that she’d left the dirt-bag that had been keeping her away from the family, and he’d threatened her and her two girls.  They were standing behind their mother, Olivia and Melanie.  Melanie I’d only seen once in person, when she was already four years old.  They looked up at me with large eyes, luminous with fear.  My home was as far away as Crystal could think to go.  I didn’t even need her to ask me, despite past treatment, I welcomed her and her children with open arms.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

