Anticipation & Playtime

It’s late, I know, but I thought I’d get in a few thoughts before I go to bed.  I have a fullish day tomorrow, what with two little girls adding to the hubbub.  I agreed to watch a friend’s girls for the price of pizza (she wanted to give me more but I barely even wanted to ask for lunch) One of the girls is friends with my older boy (her mother and I joke that we may be planning a wedding when they get much older) The other is just a sweet four-year old that follows her sister.  Add my little year and a half toddler following his big brother around and you’ve got a party!

I have some house work to get done, seems I always do, but hey that’s the life of a housewife.  I spent too much time “helping” my son with his Sims 3 game.  I think we as parents do that some times.  We “help” our children, but in reality we just use it as an excuse to play.  And that isn’t the only thing.  It’s the same with the television and any event that involves our children getting candy.  Sure there are some shows that I don’t care to watch, but I have an excuse to watch some cartoons again because I could just say I was monitoring my son’s TV, or I’m eating his candy to limit the amount he eventually gets, etc.  Sometimes I just wish I had a girl so I could expand on my Sailor Moon collection again.  I can’t even watch it as much as I want since it’s a “girly” show.  Oh well!  I can still enjoy things like dressing up for Halloween, and sometimes even playing make-believe.

That boy is so growing up to become a gamer geek like his parents!  He has no other choice that I can see.  We started by getting him interested in superheroes, his favorite being Spider-Man of course, then Star Wars.  He, like most youngsters loves the prequels, but isn’t against the original trilogy either.  Now that he’s older he likes video games, cards, and comics.  Soon his love of cards will turn into a love of card games, and his games of make-believe will evolve into table top roleplaying.

My younger is still too young for me to really guess at what he’ll be into when he gets older, but I have my hopes.   Maybe he’ll be my artist.  Then again, my other does like to draw.  He gets a little disconcerted after seeing my stuff and noticing that his doesn’t look the same.  I keep telling him, that mommy got to where she is by practicing, and if he keeps at it he could even be better than mommy.  I don’t know if he believes me though, one day it may sink in…

I’m not even all that good.  I don’t make huge murals, and actually I’ve gotten rusty.  I mainly do it for fun and when I get inspired to draw something.  Mostly though, I’ve been trying to work the itch into my writing.  Now that is a thing.  I hear that there is all sorts of different ways that writers get themselves into a groove.  One that I know of has a playlist that she listens to, although if she listens to the wrong one that could mess her up.  Journal entries I hear are a great way to work those mental muscles, obviously I’ve been trying that often.  I’ve been trying to find my own thing, and so far I found one that works though I haven’t used it in a while.  I mentioned an itch, well it’s more like an itchy finger, a need to make my hands move, and I made a sort of itchy ring.  Amazingly, I tended to write allot when I’d wear it, but it’s gone missing. My toddler most likely.  Still, when I find it I’m going to start wearing it again, despite the wierd looks my husband gives me when I wear it.

Wow! I wrote more than I thought!  Well, I wish I could write more, but if I don’t try to sleep now, I’m going to be a zombie tomorrow and no amount of coffee is going to raise me from the dead to greet the girls!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

One Response to Anticipation & Playtime

  1. Rose Angel says:

    Hmmmm….You are an artist as well…..do you do faeries? Bring a few illustrations for my art editor to see? We have a Faery Tale Adventures RPG and card game we will be looking for artists to do. you could toss your hat in the ring!

Leave a Reply

