Challenge #2 Memory

Write about eight memories involving the senses: touch, smell, hearing, taste, sight and emotion.

#1 Feeling along the walls of my pitch black basement.  Using my hands to tell me where I was by the texture and the firmness of the fake wood paneling.  I could’ve sworn I was right in front of the bathroom and the thing blocking it was an unusually firm sheet of cardboard.  However, when my mother turned on the lights to the main basement I realized what I’d been banging on was the other side of my brother’s bedroom wall.

#2 I was thirsty and I saw several glass bottles outside by the water hose.  So, I picked one up and tried to take a drink.  It was the worst thing I’ve ever tasted, though I can’t describe it.  I just know I spit it out before swallowing and for about the next couple of days nothing tasted right.  Oddly enough the only thing that would take the taste out of my mouth during that time was a penny.  It wasn’t delicious, but it soothed.

#3 It didn’t feel so natural, certainly not like sitting normally.  I think we shifted around for a good fifteen minutes, then he pushed through.  I could feel it as if he’d been trying to go through a tight circle I’d made with my fingers.  The barrier gave way with a near audible ‘pop!’.

#4 Around Christmas time we started smelling burning plastic.  We checked the oven for a leak, the computer for a short in the wires and even the vents to see if anything plastic was on them.  Nothing,  and yet the smell kept coming back regularly.  It did go away after the tree went down though.

#5 Crying at weddings isn’t unusual.  There’s always someone who does it.  I didn’t know who, but I knew someone was would.  I was thirty minutes late, after waiting for my veil to be finished.  When the first notes of the Wedding March started up, and everything I’d been dreaming of suddenly became a reality I thought, “Oh NO!” I was oblivious to anyone else crying, cause from the spill-over room down to the alter my eyes were spilling over in never-ceasing streaks under the cover of my home-made veil.

#6 I sat in the parking lot, opening a package, and  I instantly smelled chocolate.  Not only had my best friend sent me a couple of comics, and a signed copy of the new Laurell K. Hamilton novel, but she’d sent my pregnant self a delicious chocolate bar.  It’d melted in the summer heat and been squished during transit, getting melted confection all over everything inside.  The comics survived as they were still in their protective plastic but he book was not as lucky.  It fortunately wasn’t ruined, just a little chocolatey stain inside the first few pages and on the bottom edges.  Even more fortunate though, was that now whenever I pick up that copy, I’m going to smell that delicious bar.

#7 A day before her birthday, my grandmother got sick.  She’d fallen earlier and my mother told me not to wait till the next day to see her.  That night she started throwing up blood and my mother stayed by her side to help her and to make sure she didn’t drown in her own fluids in the middle of the night.  I stayed as well to support her emotionally.  It was dark in the room and though it didn’t smell, but I remember the sounds of her coughing and hacking on her own fluids, followed by long moments where I couldn’t even hear her raspy breathing.

#8 My grandmother died the day after her birthday.  Me and my family members were allowed to view the body in the hospital shortly after.  I wish I hadn’t.  She’d had a tube down her throat to pump the blood out of her stomach and though she was in a coma, her eyes had been wide open the whole time.  There seemed to be some life in those eyes when her heart was still beating, but they just stared at nothing and no one closed her mouth after the tube had been extracted, so it was open wide like Imhotep in the Mummy movie.  She’d lost a lot of weight, so the last sight of her the one that sticks with me is this corpse that I see occasionally in my nightmares.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

