2 Hours & 4 Square Feet

I had two sets of containers, one holding tomato plants and the other holding cabbage plants.  I would like to have had more, but for my very first vegetable garden I believe it will do.  There was supposed to be four tomatoes in it, but the container I grabbed had three extra, so if they survive the separation I could potentially have several tomato plants.  There were no extra plants in the cabbage so I only have four of those if the rabbits don’t get them, but as I only tilled a small area, I’m fine with that.  Anyway, how much cabbage will I really need?  Tomatoes I can use.  I’m one of the only ones in my home that likes them, and if only one person in the family likes something, it doesn’t usually get purchased for lack of budget.  The plants were free, so only time and energy went into them.

The tiller wis somewhere else and the plants needed to go into the ground, so I had to do the tilling by hand with a small hand-held gardening spade.  I think the previous owner used that area to bury a pet or something.  My first clue was a concentration of pebbles in a specific spot just at the corner of my little tilled area.  I also found a good-sized chunk of bone about as long and thick as my thumb.  I thought it was a orange-yellow rock to be honest, that is untill I cleaned it off and saw the porous holes in it.  I knew there was a possibility that I’d run across an old pet grave, the house has nearly a century below it’s belt, minus a few decades.  Still, it creeps me out and intrigues me at the same time.  I want to see what else I can find, you know with all that history in the ground and all,  but then again I don’t entirely like the idea of disturbing some animal’s grave.

That isn’t the best part of finding the bone though.  My mind has started playing this “What if…” game with me.  I know it’s highly unlikely, but every so often I see the size of that piece of bone and think, that could be a human bone.  That could be part of the remains of some poor soul that a previous owner murdered and buried.  What if I dig up the rest of the area, dig deeper and uncover the rest of the skeleton?  (and then maybe have  a poltergeist episode on my hands) It’s plausible, and I don’t know the history of the area all that well.  It could have happened…

But it’s more likely that it isn’t even a pet, that it’s really just the remnant of a chew bone some dog buried there.  I suppose I won’t know much more till I dig up more of the area.  I’m good with the little square of dirt I tore up for now.  It took me nearly two hours to do four square feet of dirt down about 4-6 inches. 

I’ll probably have to repeat part of the process to plant that 2-year-old maple my son and I have been growing from a helicopter seed, but other than that I’m fairly good for the next few months.  Then I’ll have to till up some area for some lily plants I’ll be getting from my mother in law in the fall.   Who knows, I might just have a brown-thumb and kill off all my plants, then I might as well give up on any sort of garden cause they’ll just die on me.  In any case, I’m done tearing up my yard for now

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

One Response to 2 Hours & 4 Square Feet

  1. dreamrei says:

    You may now come over to my blog and subscribe to my brilliantness…

Leave a Reply

