The Coffee Blog Begins!!!

I decided, in light of the Greenhouse here in Garner starting to carry new merchandise (gourmet coffee being one) that I would start a CoffeLog.  I have samples of one of each of our blends and will sample and blog about one per day.  This should evolve into other coffees and maybe a tea here and there.  I’ve not sampled a coffee today, but instead I will give a little background on my life with coffee.

I can’t remember when my very first experience with coffee was.  My mother liked to make Iced coffee with instant coffee, sweetener and 2% milk.  When asked, she would allow me to drink some, and knowing me, I’d guzzle as much down as possible.  My first Hot coffee was when I was ten years old.  It wasn’t unusual for there to be a pot of coffee already half empty by the time I woke up in the mornings.  I can’t remember anything significant in this morning other than I was extremely tired, and probably a little cold.  I was already fairly used to the kitchen by then, and in a family of five children, you learned to fend for yourself after a certain point, I was no exception.  So, cold tired and looking for something that could take care of it quickly enough, I grabbed a cup, the sugar and the milk and went to town making myself a little coffee with my sugar.

I’ve evolved a little since then.  I no longer require a half a mountain of sugar to drink a cup.  I can enjoy my coffee black, sweet, creamed or creamed and sweet, hot or cold.  It all depends on my mood.  Flavors are a favorite of mine, though I’d been limited to pre-ground coffee till recently, and have had the pleasure of sampling Gevalia as well as numerous other brands.

I will start my blog with The Garner Greenhouse’s new line called Scentopia, move on to the other coffees in my home, and eventually sample the coffee served elsewhere.  I’ll give what information is provided for me, as well as my own opinions.  Each coffee will be sampled black, then sweetened and finally creamed.  Later I hope to go into creamers, and I may throw in any coffee themed/flavored item I come across.

For now, I will start with something the Greenhouse used to sell, but no longer does: the Harry London Espresso Dark Chocolate Squares.  These are real espresso bean inclusions immersed in extra dark 70% cocoa.  They come in individual .42 oz packages.  I will admit that this isn’t the first time I’ve had one.  I am as much a chocolate fan as I am a coffee fan so these squares are perfect for me.  I can’t find caffeine info on them, but I do know that after I’ve had a few in succession, I noticed a difference in my temperament (old-fashioned hyperness).  Initially you taste the semi-sweet chocolate, then as you chew through the chocolate you taste the coffee grounds and get the flavor of the espresso.  despite the 70% cocoa, it doesn’t taste as bitter as one would think.  In fact the color isn’t as nearly a dark chocolate as I’ve found else where.  What type of coffee bean used other than espresso is not specified.  All in all, a nice hand-held solid substitute for coffee if I find myself sans coffee.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

