New York New York

Today, by random grab, I selected an exclusive medium roast blend from the Garner Greenhouse called New York New York.  The information you will find on the container reads as follows:  A fantastic, rich, aromatic, full-bodied, smooth, low-acidic blend.  A combination of SHB Central American, South American, and a select Indonesian to create a truly unique, high impact cup.

My impression was that it  has an aroma that’s slightly smokey when ground, and when the bean is sampled dry the taste is very robust.  It has a very strong flavor when sampled black, with some extra bitterness like when you put way too much coffee ground in your filter.  Entirely black this coffee can be a little overwhelming.  If you like your drink strong, I would greatly recommend it.  However, there’s just a little too much bite.  When I drink coffee black, I don’t prefer it to be so sharp.  Sugar takes some but not all of the bite away, which is actually a good thing.  The flavor is still there and though some might argue with me, the sugar does not overpower the taste, but enhance it.  Personally I don’t like a weak flavored coffee when I add sugar to it.  I like a coffee that can stand to have a little sugar in it without being dominated by it.  Finally milk and sugar smooths out the overall flavor.  I think it is delicious with milk and sugar.  There’s still flavor, and I find myself guzzling it as much as I can.  Overall, I liked this and will purchase enough for those days when I really need a kick in my pants!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

