Christmas!

I know I said I’d write every day, but I decided that though I may drink coffee on Christmas and Christmas Eve, I would just enjoy the time with family and friends and not blog about it.  Anyway, when I tried to ascertain the specific brew I was drinking on Christmas, the answer given to my “What kind of coffee is this?” was a good-natured “Black.”

In honor of the season,  I will be blogging about a tea today, a tea called Christmas.  It is a flavored black tea  from The Garner Greenhouse made from an aromatic combination of premium black tea from Sri Lanka, with spicy cinnamon, pungent cloves, and tangy orange peels.  When you brew it you immediately think of warm hot Christmas beverages like wassail and apple cider.   And tasting it unsweetened it’s smooth with almost no bitterness.. I could drink it all day unsweetened, and I don’t say that about many drinks, being afflicted with a permanent sweet tooth.  I’m not even going to add sugar till the very last, because I want to enjoy it with a piece of my home-made gingerbread house.  You have to appreciate the subtle way the clove and cinnamon help to mellow out the tea and I don’t even taste a hint of orange, which I was afraid I would.  Unless I’m sick, me and oranges don’t usually mix too well, and I absolutely dislike orange flavored soda and candies.  One must stir the tea after you first brew it because it settles on the bottom if you don’t.  Adding sugar is really only necessary if you have a major sweet tooth.  It doesn’t make it taste like wassail or spiced apple cider, though the smell is a close cousin obviously.  Definetly a great tea to have during the Christmas season, or even just to feel a bit of that Christmas cheer when the cold has receded but the desire to feel the inner warmth is there.

I find myself wishing to hang on to the festivities a little longer, the good will towards men just seemed to go by too quickly.  The house is scattered with boxes and bits of trash.  Toys that have no home yet are cluttering the furniture, the gingerbread house that stood in our kitchen for a week no longer has its crispy treat family and the roof has lost its corners.  I’m sitting at my computer writing this blog and sipping tea that makes me a little sad knowing that come tomorrow Santa will have disappeared from the gingerbread chimney, the floors and boxes will have to be cleared away so that the trash can go out on the corner and life will be moving on from this holy holiday and onto a new year.

Good tea though!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

