Irish Créme

Back to coffee!  Today I randomly selected a coffee from the Garner Greenhouse called Irish Créme.  It is a dark roast, organic exclusive blend.  A taste of creamy Irish líqure overlays a medium roast for this specialty flavored coffee.

One of the few flavored coffees offered at the Greenhouse, you can smell the hint of Irish liquor overlaying the beans, though hint is a bit mild of a word really.  Blindfolded one could tell what the bean was just by opening the container it sits in.  You can taste the Irish Creme without sugar or milk, and it is a stronger flavor of coffee underneath the actual flavoring.  There’s bitterness, more so than some black coffees, but it’s not too much.  The flavor holds up under sugar, in fact it tastes even more like Irish Creme, and then you add milk and it’s nearly perfect.  I wonder what would happen if you put Irish Cream creamers into the coffee instead of milk.  I’d hate to overlap the delightful flavor of the coffee by putting inferior flavored creamers into it instead.  Perhaps when I run out of flavors I’ll then try creamers with the coffee, but for now I’m just going to enjoy it as is.

Off topic of the actual coffee.  I’m finding when I grind the beans I come out with a little more coffee than I need to brew a cup of coffee, and rather than making the coffee deliberately strong, I leave off the extra and put it in a bag to save for later.  Now I thought that if it comes to about the right amount, I’d mix the ground coffee together after I’ve sampled each and blog about the new blend I created.

I was browsing the bulk coffee at the grocery store today and saw that on the bags they had suggestions of how to blend the coffee you buy to make a flavor blend all your own.  It’s an idea, and I just might try it to see if I can do something similar for the Greenhouse using our own beans.  It’s an interesting thought, one I might ponder for later writings.  As for now I’ll leave you with the rich taste of the Irish on my lips.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

