Sumatran

Today I sampled a single origin dark roasted blend from our Garner Greenhouse called Sumatran.  It finds it origins in a tropical Indonesian island where cup after cup is brewed till that earthy, deep, complex full-bodied coffee is found that exhibits low-acidity smoothness and a touch of forest floor funk, or so it says.

My impressions of it black were that it wasn’t too strong, and not much of a bitter aftertaste, yet not smooth like the Ethiopian Harrar.  It stands well to sugar, though still with an aftertaste.  Just a hint of a little more, perhaps that forest floor funk.  It’s just a hint of a nip to remind you that you aren’t drinking your grandmother’s coffee.  With milk it does taste like my mother’s iced coffee though.  That little extra gets hidden when drowned with dairy, so maybe milk may not be the best for this.  I wold drink it with sugar, but I’m sure allot out there would just love this without any modification.  Cheers!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

