Chocolate Velvet

Today’s brew is Millstone’s Chocolate Velvet flavored coffee.  I don’t have more information on the Chocolate Velvet, just that it looked like a medium roast, and the aroma of the unbrewed bean was most definitely chocolate! Today’s was not randomly selected, and is not a Greenhouse blend.  My selection of Garner Greenhouse Scentopia Coffee is growing short, so I decided to sample the other kinds of bulk coffee beans I could find. 

I did this to show that though I would like to promote our product, I want people who don’t live in our area to know what type of coffee is out there and the quality that can be found etc.  So far, all I’ve found is Millstone in bulk.  I’ve gotten samples from two different stores, one with more of a variety than the other, and all seemed very intriguing.  That being said, I was disappointed in my first non Greenhouse bean since starting this blog.

 When I brewed a cup there was such a terrible bitter aftertaste that I missed any hint of chocolate that could be found!  For those of you who need to know my process of brewing, I scoop out a specific amount of bean into my electric grinder, that gets wiped out after every grinding.  From there I pour the ground into a #2 coffee filter and place it in a Gevalia Cup coffee maker that can brew up to two travel mugs of coffee at a time, a total of about 15 ounces in each mug.  I only brew one at a time lately.

Anyway, Millstone’s Chocolate Velvet was a let down.  It had a wonderful aroma before brewing, but when it came down to it I couldn’t stand the taste.  The only thing I could’ve hoped for was that milk and sugar would totally mask it!  I’ve come to have a new appreciation for the quality of coffee bean we sell at the Garner Greenhouse.  Perhaps my experience was just a fluke and that particular brand at that particular store was contaminated by something beyond what I could think of.  I have another flavor from a different store, but the same brand that I hope will be more appealing when I drink it.  All I know was the cup was so horrid I didn’t finish the coffee.  It was just nasty stuff, and I never want to start my New Year like that again!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

