I Got Nothin’

No coffee today, no tea, I got nothin’! I spent all day in my son’s room cleaning the darn thing!  The only help forthcoming was from the two-year old that follows me like a lost puppy, and that was fleeting, and hardly made up for the work he undid as I continued to work.  And why wasn’t the eight year old mostly responsible for the mess in the room with me? I’ve been down this road with my son many a time.  A mountain of toys, clothes, pieces of cardboard and any other odd tidbit he thought to bring into his room.  I wish I had the picture I took of it the time before this, but sadly my camera ate it.  I’ll tell him to do it on his own, only to have a full day of stress.

His initial reaction is the usual “Aw!!!!” followed by a slouching shamble to the disaster zone.  About five minutes later, he can be heard playing, which makes me come in and glaringly insist that he work.  About fifteen minuets from the time I asked him to clean said room, he asks if he can take a break.  If I were to allow this, which I don’t, he’d take as long as he could squeeze out.  But, no I send him back, a slight ache growing in my head.  Many variations of this will happen during the course of the afternoon and evening.  He’ll eat his dinner slowly, and try to trick me into forgetting that he has to clean his room.  Ofcorse every time I find that he’s playing, which is often, I get more and more frustrated, my voice raises more and more, till I’m sure I look like one of those cartoon characters whose faces are read and have shooting steam from their ears.  At the end of the day, the room either looks pretty much the same, or I jump in at the last half hour and make it presentable, but not satisfactory and the slight ache has turned into a full-blown throbbing cranium.  Let us not forget that we have to go through the same song and dance the next day, and the next…OH MY GOD!

No.  I was not going to go through that today.  I wanted to be able to walk up to his closet without tiptoeing around and on a lot of junk.  I wanted to be able to walk into the room in the pitch dark of night and not trip over, step on, or stub my toe with some random item.  I wanted the legos in the lego thing, I wanted the treasures in the treasure chest, I wanted the cars put in the car carrying case, and I wanted the car carrying case to be put back together!  I wanted the room clean, tonight, without fuss.  So I did it myself and though my back aches from sitting on that floor the whole time, my head does not throb, and I can walk through the room right now, dance even (if I felt like waking up my children) and not step on a thing!

But that is why I’ve got nothin’.  I’m going to go to Facebook, see if Cityville is still going to be a pain to my computer, and maybe get some writing done in my Revolution story.  Wish me well!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

2 Responses to I Got Nothin’

  1. Rose Angel says:

    Ok, here is what I am seeing…. a child who doesn’t see the benefits of a clean room, but does see having everything out where he can see it makes it easy to spot something to distract him. Recommendation: sit down with him at the kitchen table. Serve cookies and hot chocolate. Sit with him and explain why you want him to clean the room. Now the reason he says Aww is because the room by this time is a daunting task. Remember, if it is daunting for you it is triple for him. Also remember the short attention span in children makes it hard to stick to a task.

    If the room must be cleaned in one day. Offer to help him clean. Bring his little brother in on the task and make it a game. Offer shelving that you aren’t using (or take him with you to help pick put a new one-great if you can let him pick) and some baskets to sort out his toys and belongings into that fit onto the shelves.

    If it doesn’t have to be done in one day, break it up into manageable segments. Laundry picked up and put in hamper day 1. Big toys put on shelves, and little ones on small baskets on day 2. Day three, lets find out what we lost under the bed! And so on. Again, offer to help and make it a game.

    Help him keep the room clean by assigning a small task every day. Show him my keeping organized these tasks are done more quickly. i.e., by throwing clothes in the hamper when you take them off it only takes a few minutes to take your laundry to the laundry room to be washed. By keeping empty hangers in one spot it is easy to bring them to mom so she can put clothes on hangers for you as they come out of the dryer. Then it’s easy to put hanging clothes in the closet quickly.

    Next, be sure to give him a big hug when he keeps at a task for 15 to 20 minutes. Give him some just mom and me time for completing a task. “Hey! When you get done with that task we can rent that favorite movie of yours and have popcorn while we watch it!

    By the way.. the two year old can save your legs! set baskets out to sort things into. you sit on the floor by a pile and hand him things to put in the basket. It keeps him occupied and teaches him to sort, and to clean at the same time!

    Good luck!

    • Cici Ladybug says:

      Thanks Rose ^^ Yeah, I could and have done many of these, but he forgets almost imediately after. He’ll get a good number out without puting one away. He got into a habit of throwing everything, big toys, little toys, dirty clothes, etc. into cardboard boxes. I have gotten little tote things with drawers for putting the smaller stuff in, he has a toy chest, he just won’t use them. I plan on having him help me sort the boxes I filled up last night and then vaccume the floor. My main motivation last night was to get the floor cleared and in a relitively neat order.

Leave a Reply

