And the Results Are In!

The day before yesterday I announced that I wanted to become a book reviewer.  I also spoke of applying at a couple of sites to do it and get free books in the process.  What’s more I thought that I might “freelance” review while I wait for my free books to come and asked anyone who read the post to give imput.  Well the results are in…

As far as what I’ll be reading on the side I got no feedback.  I get no love!  So, since I’m near to the end of it I’m going to review one you’ve all heard about, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.  Tonight I’m going to read ahead in it so that I might get on to the review that much sooner.  I can tell you right now, it will be a favorable review.  There’s a reason why it’s a classic and why it has lasted so long.  The man knew how to spin a tale and to pull you in!  I’d never read it before now, though I’d seen the Disney cartoon movie and I’d seen all the little spoofy television episodes that aped the story, but never picked up the volume and read it.

I have heard back from one of the sights and have been approved to become one of their reviewers!  My first book is in the mail, and I will be receiving it soon enough!  Yay! Free book!  The site is a religious based site, so anything I review from it will definitely have a religious theme.  I’m thinking I’m going to look up just one more site to round me out.  The other sight has approved me I think, but for this one I have to wait for a book that meets the interests they had me select.  I was limited to one genre for fiction and one for non-fiction and only two sub-genres after it. I really would’ve liked to pick more cause I read more than just one genre and I’m interested in more than just one little thing.  Oh well! 

I’m excited! I hope very much to do well with this.  When I told one of my best friends what made me realize that I wanted to review books she laughed.  She had a good question though, would I get paid.  No, I’m not getting paid, and I can understand why.  You’re getting a free book for an honest review.  If they were to pay their reviewers there’d be some question as to the verisimilitude (ha!) of their statements.

You know that brings up a number of things that I believe are shady things to do when having published your book:

#1 Paying a reviewer to favorably review your work.

#2 Writing your own review.

#3 Making family and close friends buy their own copies.

Number one is wrong for the very reason it states.  You’re bribing someone to possibly lie through their teeth about your book.  Sure you want to sell, but don’t you want to sell on your own merit and not on the lies of strangers?

It’s the same for number two.  In this one you’re just saving some money to make a fake review so you will sell copies of your book.  If you have to review your own book cause no one else will write one of your book or write a favorable review, it may mean that your work isn’t good enough to stand on its own, and therefore you’re desperately trying to sell out your own audience to make a buck.

Number three is wrong for a more personal note.  I don’t know of any self-respecting human being that would not give their loved ones a complimentary copy of their work.  It’s what we do with the ones we care most about;  we give to those that we love, not take from them for our own greedy ways.  It’s just not right!

So anyway, I’m off to find another book reviewer sight.  Who knows, this may be the beginning of a beautiful partnership!

I review for BookSneeze

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

