Researching For A Story pt. 1

I have a story I’m wanting to write.  It’s another take on the Beauty and th Beast fairy tale.  In order to get a good idea of the real meat of it I’ve been researching anything and everything I can find.  I’ve seen old black and white movies in French, read several translations of some of the original versions of the fairy tale, looked at pictures, etc.  The begining keeps shifting on me though.  I have a prologue in mind, but the first chapter changes so much in my mind that I now have no idea how I’m going to write it.  Do I just go right into the father returning from the Beast’s castle, or do I show a little more of my Beauty’s daily life first?  How quickly do I really want to jump into the story?  I suppose I’m writing this because sometimes writing my ideas down helps me to solidify what I’m going to have happen.  Big fat lot of good it’s doing me though.  I need to play around with scenes I suppose, re-read what I wrote of the prologue and expand on it.

I don’t want to make fan-fiction, I want to make a whole new take on the same theme.  Girl asks for rose, father steals a rose from a beast, girl lives with beast, girl’s unconditional love breaks the curse.  But there are so many ways of taking it!  There are so many things that I could do with the bare bones of such a story!  And then I could go on to do the same with some of the other classic princess fairy tales!

Anyone who knows how I write though will know that focus is difficult for me.  I keep switching from story to story, never finishing a single one, and yet working on them all!  I’ve been working hard to fight this.  My main mode at the moment is the music I used to tune out the rest of the world.  There is a decided theme to it.  I like having playlists, but if I really want to get into the mood of a story I’ve found that usually a single group will stick out more than the others as that book’s music, anything else is just filler.  My Beauty and Beast story seems to favor Nightwish, Revolution is Evanesence, Dangerous Obsidian is more Tango (not really a group, but close enough),  Elven Twilight and Wolf Dreams don’t have music yet, Fey Illusions is Criss Angel, and a story I’m refering to as Pink is predominantly TATU, though there is a little bit of the Starlights in it (ten points to anyone that’s not Rachel or Katrina that knows the group I’m talking about)  When I’m having troubles thinking of something, anything to write, I put on everything in a playlist I call Brainstorm.

I go to sleep imagining scenes from my stories to flesh them out, I play internal movies of the books in my head as I do chores around the house.  Still, I’m prone to a wandering imagination, and sometimes even my dreams just add to the problem.  Dangerous Obsidian was entirely inspired by a dream I had.  Since I’d already had several stories floating in my head, this was pretty frustrating as I was powerless to resist the pull of Hadrian!

Well I’ve thoroughly confused my muse as to which story I want to write tonight, so I’ll just read something and hope for a good night.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

