Bleh! Doll-ing Myself Up & Other Home Projects

I’ve done some writing in stories today, but at the moment I don’t have the mental capacity to do so.  It’s late for me, but I want to keep my writing muscles spry so, I write stupid drivel that may or may not entertain.  I really don’t give a damn.

I’ve got my hair in ghetto curlers.  Well, I had them in ghetto curlers, now only two bits are still up cause the hair was still damp and wouldn’t hold the twist.  For anyone wondering what ghetto curls are, you take your woefully straight hair, separate it into pieces (how many is really up to you) and you take each individual separation and twist it into a mini bun, and attach it to your head via hair rubber band.  What you get is a hairstyle that looks like the legal assistant in Liar Liar that asks what the main character thinks about her new loud suit, and Jim Carey’s character replies “Whatever takes the attention away from your head!”  Yeah it’s real appealing.  My husband looked up from his game and said “What the hell!”  When they’re dry, you take them down and end up with Redneck dreds.  The theory is once they get bone dry I’ll be able to brush my hair into a nice little wavy mass.  I don’t happen to own a set of real curlers, and I think using those would have just made my husband guffaw!

The curls are just a step in my beautification process.  “Why?” you may ask.  My husband first mentioned that I looked like I was preparing for a date with someone else, then when I told him it was for him he asked if he’d forgotten some important date…No…The purpose is I have specific plans for his Valentines gift that require a beautified wife.  So I’m dolling myself up before we go to bed.  The curls may not stay, but this is actually a first attempt and only meant to figure out whether or not a viable hairdo is possible with this technique.  In theory it should, but I’ve never fully put it into practice.  Tomorrow I’ll plan for a makeup session where I play with eye shadow and such to get the effect I want.  Since the full purpose is supposed to be a surprise for my husband, I won’t say what exactly I’m up to, but after it’s all been revealed to him then I shall share bits of my process.

I made homemade granola bars two nights ago and they turned out great!  What’s neat is anyone could make them.  Er, scratch that, not everyone could make them, but almost everyone could I already had the ingredients I used to make it and the recipe I found could easily be substituted.  It called for honey, I used corn syrup.  It listed two cups of chocolate chips, I used a half and added the rest in nuts.  The oats is a given, and I did insert some peanut butter and unprocessed bran into the recipe as well, but there is a great deal of wiggle room for customization!

I want to share one more bit with you before I go down to bed.  I’ve been painting my own nails since I was a little girl.  Back then I’d had a professional do my nails once, but since I had no nails to speak of (I was a bad nail biter) she did a not so good job.  That coupled with a lack of money to waste on such a thing was the driving force in doing my own nails.  I’m glad to say I kicked the habit long ago and now have semi elegant nails to paint, but the years without taught me some things.  First, leave your dominant hand for last.  If you don’t want to worry about smudging the nails on that hand, wait till all other nails are done and dry.  It’s time-consuming, yes, but the dominant hand is the hardest to paint simply because your other hand is the one doing the painting.  Second, sometimes simple is good.  I’ve fallen under the spell of the neat little designs you can get at a salon, but when you are doing it yourself, minimizing can be a blessing, especially when it’s time to use your off-hand to paint your dominant. Finally, practice practice practice.  As I said I’ve been playing with my nails for a while, and I’ve forced myself to do most of my nails with the off-hand just to teach myself to do it without making a disastrous mess of my hands and feet.  I still have my bad days when I can’t get a single nail right, but I would be hopeless if I never practiced.  Just as a side note, I’ve thought about it sometimes while painting my nails and come to realize the reason the nail technician (is that what they like to be called now, I can’t remember and I’m too drowsy to rack my brain to find out) failed in her attempts to neatly paint my nails as a young lady was because she was trying to paint my nails as if I didn’t bite them down to the quick, vertically when what she should have done was paint them horizontally like I did at home.  I paint vertically now because my nails are long enough that I don’t end up painting my fingertips as well as my nails, but in order to avoid painting the tips of my nails, I would paint them horizontally.  Just a little tidbit, it’s inane I know, but what do you expect from me, it’s two in the morning!

Well I’m off to bed! Hot sexy corn dreams for you all until I’m back with some more readable garbage for you to ingest!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

