Mr. Darcy’s Obsession by Abigail Reynolds

I came across a free eBook called Mr. Darcy’s Obsession by Abigail Reynolds and was intrigued.  It is a retelling of the story of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  In this story, Elizabeth is even more unsuitable for Mr. Darcy, having lost her father and is near to impoverished.   There are some bits tha mirror the original piece and some that don’t.  Ofcorse without having read the original yet, I can’t say for sure what was Jane and what was Abigail in the work.  I do know that the style of writing is easier to digest for the more modern reader.  The plot moved well, the characters were believable and the writing coherent and moving.  Even though the characters were not her own, the way Abigail got you into the story was superb.  I could hardly stop reading, even with my eyes twitching from the glare of my computer screen.  She draws you in and really makes you feel what the characters are feeling.

I would certainly recommend this story to any lover of Romance, especially if you enjoy Jane Austen’s work, but even if you aren’t or haven’t ever read her work.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

