Tehe! Playing With My New eReader

Ten days ago my family and I went to Best Buy and purchased a few things.  My husband purchased The Last Airbender in 3D, and a new keyboard (it glows) and I got a Sony Reader Pocket Edition.  Ever since I got it home and charged it up, I have been having fun with every feature in it.

First feature to enjoy was ebooks, ofcorse.  Cause if you are going to buy an eReader, you better have reading first and foremost on your mind.  I know that it will support PDF, RTF, and TXT formats, but beyond that I didn’t pay attention.  I do know that the books I had on my Kindle for PC program do not show up in it, so I had to search out a copy of one of the books I intend to read eventually.  Because It will read RTF & TXT formats, that means I can type something up and then review it for editing later without the hassle of copying it by hand into a notebook and then transferring via typing back to the computer again.  Useful!

It will display JPGs as well, so I have a manga style pic of Usagi and Seiya ( U&S FTW Rachel!) as well as the original artist rendering of Rydia from Final Fantasy IV (or 2 for the super NES).  Not the 8-bit  but the actual line drawing of her.  She is by far my favorite Final Fantasy Character, and considering she’s in the same game as a character named Cecil…  But anyways!  I haven’t figured out how to display the JPGs from my computer on my Reader’s sleep mode, but I will…I will!

Lemme see!  There’s just so many things that can be done with this if you just use a little imagination.  The entire screen is a touch screen, which allows for a handwriting feature.  I use it for making a temporary shopping list, I make little sketches with it, I even let my little two-year-old scribble with his finger!  You can handwrite notes on to any of the written documents or hide a txt memo on them instead.  It is five inches so it really does fit into a pocket.  I have a coat pocket designed for a portable CD player and it fits perfectly into it, but I’ve also been able to put it into my back pocket too (though I take it out before I sit down cause that would not be good on that little thing!)  Also it has a typewriting feature, so I could even type up a little if the muse strikes me.  I’ve even used it to take notes during bible study!

Me eReader does not have WiFi.  Now, I know that a good number of the more popular readers have WiFi…why?  All it will allow you to do is download books right?  I can do that very well from home, and if I were to go on a long trip, I’d make sure to stock up on books before hand…That’s just a wasted feature to me, and just another way for companies to squeeze money out…color would be alright, but since I read children’s books to my kids only a little (I read the types of books that requires them to imagine what is going on, which works well for putting them to sleep) I don’t really need color.  All in all it is the perfect eReader for me, and to a lesser extent my children.

Just wanted to share that, now I’m off…I have neglected my writing for too long!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

