ePublishing vs. Self-Publishing

I’m sure I’ve covered enough about self-publishing for anyone to know that I don’t agree with shelling out money to a company to print your book.  I mean, If you’re going to do that, why not buy the proper materials to do it yourself, at least you could physically hold it in your hand, and I would have more respect for that kind of self-published author, since it would show a love of working with your hands and less of a desire to make money.  Yes, there is an end goal to actually be a successful writer for some, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t care if anybody liked what I write, but there are other passions that drive the writer in me other than recognition. 

In fact, I’m seriously thinking of writing under a pseudonym so that my writing can be liked or hated because of my abilities.  If I happen to make money off of my work, I wouldn’t complain, and neither would my husband.  I don’t have aspirations of fame and fortune, I have aspirations of financial stability, of being able to pull my own weight doing something I love.  I have been living in La la Land since I was aware enough of the real world to want to escape it.  All the years of playing pretend, and dress up, and Barbie, they evolved into a desire to tell a story.   I was blessed with a fertile imagination and by golly, I’m going to use it.

Still, I’m not a fan of Self-Publishing, but here is another route, ePublishing.  Nowadays a good number of books are becoming eBooks so that those consumers that have eReaders can read them on their devices.  Being one of the newly initiated eReading consumers, the idea of taking my work into eBook format seems appealing.  It would be a way of getting my name out there so that a traditional publisher would be more likely to pick up something I write.  I haven’t tried it yet, but what if I do?  Will I then be seen as a sellout for not going a traditional route?  It’s possible, but you know what, who cares?

It’s not like I’m going to run around bragging that I’m an award-winning author, that I’m on the New York Times best seller list, or up for a Pulitzer.  If I ePublish, I’m going to eOwn it! Ofcorse, if I write under a pseudonym, that might cause problems if I don’t want anyone to realize that I actually wrote what I’ll be foisting off on the public.  However, if it sucks I won’t have wasted any precious paper, aside from any handwritten notes I have lying around from before I got my reader.

So, I guess my biggest peeve, is not that self-publishers shell out their own money to put their work out there, but the beef is more for those that pretend they’re big hot shots for doing it, when they’re not.  I’m not impressed by pompous boasting, and money.  I’m impressed by skill, talent, passion, decency, etc.

Sorry, I just couldn’t keep that in this morning.  Whew!  Okay, well back to editing…My reader is just too awesome!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

