Work=Sewing

Again, I’m writing from the hip, with no clear purpose as to what to write, much like my real life.  Well, so far so good.  My new endeavor is proving to be effective in getting me moving about the house.  I actually want to get back over to the sewing machine, but I promised myself that I would write something in the blog today since I skipped yesterday in order to get my groove going.  I think it’s coming along though.  I have to admit though, I was nervous.  Why you might ask?  Well…

Alright, even though I’ve been getting used to a needle and thread since I was  a little girl, my experience with a sewing machine is well, pretty minimal.  Perhaps writing this where my new boss can read is a little silly, but really, I told her honestly when we started that I mostly did things by hand.

I did have a sewing machine of my own.  It was my husband’s late grandmother’s old Singer.  In great condition really.  But one day it just stopped working.  I don’t know how to fix it, and I’d really rather not mess around with it, for fear of screwing it up.  I was assured that the older ones are more sturdy, so perhaps I’ll get up the gumption to try again.  It really is a good machine.

But anyway, right now I’m working on one of their’s that they’ve lent me.  Now, Tuesday I was shaky and my work slow.  I was constantly messing up, but when I got home I was flying through the work.  Really?  Kept asking myself what the heck was wrong with me?  Must have been the coffee or the nerves.  Perhaps a mix of both. 

What had I done before this, I used my mom’s sewing machine to make a wool skirt for Ren Fair, and a matching pouch with a muskrat top flap, made of the pockets I took out of the skirt.  I think I tried to use one earlier than that…also to make something for Ren fair, but I didnt’ know about bobbins then…hahahaha imagine my surprise when my perfect stitch didn’t hold up.  Something must have been wrong with the machine right? Riiiight.

Then there was ofcorse Grandma Brown’s sewing machine.  I can’t remember what all I did with it.  Mostly fixing popped stitches, possibly the beginnings of my Full body feather pillow.  I was pregnant with my youngest and in desperate need of something for comfort.  I think that might have been when I stopped working.  Ah well!

Shameless Plug alert! If you want to check out the company and their merchandise, including but not limited to the different bags you can go to www.gbgpublishing.com or follow the link to Rose Angel’s blog, who is my boss lady.  Check it out, buy something, check out Spin the Issues! I’m off to work!  Hahahaha! work!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

2 Responses to Work=Sewing

  1. Rose Angel says:

    No, Cici, I do not think it’s silly. Just beginning day jitters. It happens all the time. I wish I had been able to spend more time with you in the office but, that wasn’t to be. Crazy goings on here. We got another order but not the one we were expecting. I am off to purchase more satin and equipment shortly….then cut more satins…then board meeting,,, then ordering cord and beads…then sewing. Long day!

    • Cici Ladybug says:

      I don’t envy you! I’ll keep working hard to get these done. I realize this first week isn’t going to reflest nearly as well as I’d like but I’m still optomistic that I’ll do much better the next week ^^

Leave a Reply

