Poke it with a Stick!

I took time out to enjoy the steadily improving weather with my sons Saturday.  They played, rode the four-wheeler power-wheels together and just generally had fun.  I raked.  Pinecones, pine needles, and leaves left over from the fall.  I picked up sticks, twigs, and dead tomato plants from the previous season.  Only question on my mind while raking was how to dispose of them?

Well, its been in the back of my head that I’d like a burn pit to dispose of those sorts of things, and in the same breath I and the kids could enjoy it’s warmth and when I got the fire to sustain itself for a while we could roast marshmallows, hot dogs and any other roastable consumable.  Problem is I’ve been told that you can’t just make one.  You have to have the specific stuff to make one.  We have all these stones and such for making a deck, some are triangular and look like some of the sort of stuff you ‘d use to make the walls of a burn pit.  So I use them.   I don’t intend on making a really big fire, or a really hot one, and if my husband makes a stink about them they can easily be taken away.  I just wanted something to contain a little fire for a night, and I got that.

Anyway I set them out to make a sort of Star of David, then another.  but on the top there’s only four triangles left so I just put two on one end and two on the other, then I take leaves twigs and some paper and I go to work building a fire.  The kids loved it.  Brandon I think was a little too enthusiastic.  When I’d put more leaves on he’d try to, when I put sticks in he’d try to put some in as tall as he was, when I’d blow on the embers to ignite the fire again he would, when I’d poke at it with a stick he’d poke at it with a stick.

I never did get it to sustain itself for very long.  Barely long enough for a marshmallow or two, but it was enough.  Got rid of some of the leaves and entertained the kids, well some more than others.  Gabriel really could have cared less except for the fact that Brandon brought out the JUMBO marshmallows, which he bit into several, but finished very few.  We even found one the next day that he’d bitten into a couple of times and put into the seat of his car toy.

Anyway, it was fun.  I hope the weather holds up, but today it’s just cold.  Maybe this is the last chill before it really warms up.  We shall see.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

