Setting Mood with Music…

Well, I need to post, so I post.  It’s a usual Monday filled with Grocery shopping and such.  Got my first pay, and it was nice.  Not a lot but that was to be expected at first since I’m paid for how much I get done and I was just learning the ropes.  I’m confidant that I’ll get more done this next time around.  I need to get more writing done.  I use my travel time to Mason City as a oportuity to envision what goes on in the story.  This last time I had a little of an “Aha!” moment with regards to Amore…

See, I like the mood that music sets, especially in a movie.  It’s no wonder that I like books so much, cause when I read I can see the action as plainly in my head as most people see movies on their Televisions.  At least, if the author is good enough.  So, when I’m writing I like music that fits the mood of my characters and the part of the story they’re in.  Well, most of the time I listen to MP3’s on my way to and from the City, but today my battery wasn’t charged, so I listened to the radio and several songs played that seemed like Amore, with regards to the main character.

Darn it all but I can’t remember them all now.  I’m being distracted by an extremely affectionate two-year old and a bit of pressure on the bridge of my nose.  I think one was that Grenade song, and something from the late 80’s early 90’s.  I hate that! It was such an aha! moment and now I can’t remember it!

There was a song that played, that though it doesn’t fit in the Aha moment, it was a good song that sort of feels right for the story.  That song “What I’ve Done” by Linkin Park.  I tried to look up the elusive songs but they’ve faded into the ether of my mind…I’m probably going to spend the rest of my night obsessing about it now.

Oh well! Off to Obsessionville!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

