HEY! There’s an Idea…Bucket List!

Okie, I was perusing my subscriptions when I came across this post http://deniasha.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/my-bucket-list-for-what-its-worth/ I, being in a similar category as her (that is, still young) I’ve thought about some things I’d put on a bucket list, but never made one.  She makes a good point, why wait till I’m about to kick the bucket to make my bucket list?  Hell, there’s no guarantee that any of us will live to a ripe old age.  I mean seriously, we could all get hit by a bus tomorrow…well, that would be weird if we ALL were hit by a bus tomorow, but you get my point.  Nothing is set in stone.  So, here for all to see, in no particular order,  my bucket list…

1. Finish and professionally publish a Novel.

2. Publish a series of Novels.

3. Go to Disney World or Disney Land (I don’t care which, as long as I get to Hug Donald!)

4. Fly in an Airplane

5. Take a Vacation to Hawaii (probably when I first fly in a plane)

6. Make love in the rain, outside, surrounded by trees.

7. Loose my voice from riding too many rollercoasters.

8. Get the perfect hairstyle, with color and highlights this time.

9. Meet Laurell K. Hamilton in the flesh (getting an autograph, photo and a hug!)***Update!!! It happened! I got to meet Laurell!***

LAURELL!!!!

June 10th 2011 at Cedar Rapids

10. Go on the much delayed (five years now) Honeymoon.

11. Win a contest, a real contest, with cash prize of at least $50 or equivalent.

12. See all of my children go to college.

13. Last but never least hold my future grandbabies more times than any human could count (followed by ten times that in kisses).

 

**update**

Although I still don’t quite agree with self-publishing, I am starting to see the merits in going through e-publishers.  A lot of people are going digital, even me.  Don’t get me wrong! I love hard copies, and I strive to get every book I love in a hard copy (mainly classics and anything written by Laurell K. Hamilton).  It’s just that traditional publishers are starting to cut off their noses to spite their faces, and if I rely on just traditional publishing, I may loose a market that may seem “unmarketable” to them, but would actually appeal to readers who don’t want something that’s just fantasy, or just romance, or just mystery, or just horror, etc.  So, that’s my take.  I won’t consider myself published until a traditional company picks me up, but I will consider myself an author when I start making money off my work.  There

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

6 Responses to HEY! There’s an Idea…Bucket List!

  1. Rose Angel says:

    Great idea! Like them all though my favorites are #s 6, 8, 10 and 13… not necessarily in that order though. Hey everyone. Let’s hear your thoughts on your favorites.

  2. Jessica says:

    Sounds like a great list! Would you count being published as an e-book? I’m thinking that if I ever finally finish my novel, I would just go that route and self publish. Good luck on your list and I look forward to hearing about your accomplishments!

    • Cici Ladybug says:

      Well, I’d count it as publishsed, but I don’t feel it’ll compare to holding a physical copy in my hands. I’ve seen that on some sights anyone can e-publish. I swear some that I’ve gotten ahold of have been written by adolecent girls, but there’s also some good e-books out there too. However, what would make me feel that I’ve acomplished #1 is having a publisher say “We want that, we want your work, here’s a contract, *and later* Here’s your money!” At no time will money leave my pocket unless it’s for postage to send a manuscript to the publisher and myself.

  3. Awesome bucket list! Having gone to Disney World (in Orlando) every year from the time I was five until I was 15 (and I took my kids in 2002), I can attest to the fact that it’s every bit as AWESOME as an adult as it was when I was a kid!

    How cool you got to meet Laurel K Hamilton! I’ve read a couple of her books, good vamp lit! 🙂

    Take care.

    Have a good day and THANKS for following my blog! 🙂

    Lynne

    • Cici Brown says:

      You know it wasn’t until recently that I noticed my account wasn’t following you. I love reading your blog!
      I know some of the things on the list are very likely to occur when I’m much older, but I’m perfectly happy as I am, and there’s been quite a few times I’ve thought, I could die today and be happy. The rest is just stuff I hope could happen before hand, but I’m not going to stand at the pearly gates and say “OH MAN! I CAN’T GO NOW! I never got to publish a story!”
      Nice to meet another someone that’s read Laurell! Which books have you read? I was fourteen the first time I read Bloody Bones, and had a bit of a love affair with the Anita Blake series ever since, and then moved on to her Merry Gentry series. I know some fans have grown away from the Anita series since LKH started leaning more towards erotic writing, but she’s still a captivating writer in my opinion. Just because she’s not writing what other people want to read doesn’t change that fact. I have her most recent Merry and Anita, though I haven’t read Hit List yet, I’m rereading the series so that I can savor it’s Autographed goodness all the longer!

Leave a Reply

