Dear Old Love

I love this book, and the sight.  It’s anonymous little letters written by many people, to people that they either liked or loved.  Some can be so general that you’d swear your ex-boyfriend wrote it about you.  Others are so specific and heartbreaking.  I picked out some choice posts for the past month and am putting them here, but if you want to read more go to http://dearoldlove.tumblr.com/

Ouija

Sometimes I think about getting a ouija board to call up the old you.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Sockheart

Now you have my heart and my socks.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Actually, It Does

Just because I’m at your bar, doesn’t mean you have the right to look at me anymore.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Love the One You’re With

I hope you fall desperately, deeply in love with someone else soon. Maybe with your spouse?

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Free, Easy

Just in case you ever wonder, the answer is still no, I am not wearing any underwear.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Off Line

I need to stop Facebook-stalking you. It only makes me miss you (and dream about you) more.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Pop that Tart

I hate cherry Pop-Tarts. You’re going to come back to eat the ones in the cabinet, right?

Thursday, April 28, 2011

You’re Welcome!

Thanks for making me regret losing my virginity to you.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Or Both

Ever since I figured you have a thing for strippers I can’t help feeling like you are profoundly lonely. It’s better than the “total perv” conclusion.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Get Your Crisis On

Are you having a mid-life crisis yet? Hurry up already. I may be too old for you by the time you finally come around to it.

Monday, April 25, 2011

The Art of Overstatement

It gives me comfort knowing you’ll never date someone as artistically talented as me. I’ll always have that.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Dear Unknown Love

If I don’t think of anything else, I think of you. Actually, there is nothing else on my mind. Thing is, I haven’t even met you yet.

Saturday, April 23, 2011

So Many Letters

I would have loved you fffffforrrrrevvvverrrr.

Friday, April 22, 2011

Doesn’t Seem Like THAT Big of an Admission

I always found it cute, the way you held your coffee cup. I was waiting for a
special moment to tell you, but it never came.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Singing Myself to Sleep

You’re no longer here to sing “London Bombs” to me as I fall asleep.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

If or If

Not a day passes when I don’t think about how happy we could have been if you had been a man or I had been straight.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

T-stalking

My only means of knowing what’s happening in your life is by Twitter-stalking your husband.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Trinketless

You did a great job of making sure no small material scrap existed, on your end, to show that we were ever an item. For five years you never accepted any gifts, or trinkets, or letters. So how come I’m the one who questions whether it all really happened?

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Sonny

At least I can still see parts of you in our son.

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Your Day

Ever since we met I’ve cared about your day, and would call you to ask about it. I have never stopped caring about your day.

Friday, April 15, 2011

Kissing School

Someday, when we’re talking again, you’re going to tell me where you learned to kiss like that.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Secret Dream Counter

It’s probably a good thing that no one, including me, knows how often I dream about you.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

No Understanding

No one will ever understand why I love you, me included.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Making Me Scream

I’ve been so sexually frustrated since you left. When I’m driving, I don’t see anything other than places I want you to make me scream.

Monday, April 11, 2011

LMA

Yes, I love you. Now please leave me alone.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Jacket Hug

I want to give you one of those hugs where I envelop you with my jacket.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Tasty Kisses

The thing I miss about us the most is brushing our teeth together every night, and the tasty kisses that followed.

Friday, April 8, 2011

Drinking & Typing

Sometimes I wonder who the hell writes these things—then I get drunk and write one myself.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Voicemelt

I loved how your voice would melt when you said you loved me.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Just Blame

You blame our differences—a sober Mormon vs. a stoner atheist. I just blame you. It could have worked.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

No Closure

I use the fact that there’s never been any closure as an excuse to keep missing you.

Monday, April 4, 2011

L w/o D

I try, but it’s hard for me to grasp the idea of love without desire.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

The Art World

You complimented me exactly once: you called me “pretty.” What you don’t know is that in the art world, that means worthless.

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Shaken

I just want the smallest sign that I shook your world even half as much as you shook mine.

Friday, April 1, 2011

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

3 Responses to Dear Old Love

  1. Rachel says:

    Awesome. I did a web search for Dear Old Love and this blog page was one of the sites on the first page. How cool is that?

  2. Pingback: Can You Guess What I’m Gonna Write Next??? « Ladybug's Blog

Leave a Reply

