Weight Loss: It had to become an issue for me sometime.

When I was younger, I was a stick.  I’m used to being a stick, always was used to being a stick.  Add a small handful of pregnancies (the last one really did me in) and add onto that a change from smoker to non-smoker a few years ago and  I technically became overweight, though loved ones have sworn I’m not that bad.  I feel that bad.  So, I’m aiming to do something about it.

My body image has been warped since childhood.  Mostly I’d look down and think “Dear god, are those huge things my thighs?”  Lately its been more like I look in a mirror and I see extra around my chin, not to mention my hips and thighs.  My boobs are also bigger than they were when I was a teenager, but of the things that got bigger over the years, I’m not complaining about those!  The rest has to go!

The plan? Do it gradually.  No starving, no crash diets, no repetitive exercise.  How will I accomplish this?  Well, first my activities will help.  Now that Spring is here, I can go out and mow the lawn more.  When it gets warmer, that will burn even more calories.  I also tend to listen to music while I clean up around the house, so I’ve tried to keep my playlist up beat so that I can dance while folding laundry, and washing dishes.  I will be walking more with my sons as well, and if I get the four-wheeler toy charged up the boys can even put me through my paces. Once we get a coupler for the prowler and a new tire for my son’s bike the boys and I can go bike riding, and I’ll be towing that extra weight behind me, which will help. Finally, I’ll be making a garden again, bigger this time, and that will take a good deal of elbow grease at least to start, plus it will provide me with fresh vegetables.  Which brings me to my next step in weight loss.

Eating better.  I like variety, and I like healthier foods.  My food budget doesn’t allow for much more than meals my husband will eat, and there’s not as many vegetables in those.  WIC provides a little every month for fresh fruit and vegetables, but not enough for me and two children, so I took the seeds and such from my vegetables I bought at the store and before the winter was fully over, I planted them in planters, egg cartons, and yogurt containers so that they would be more grown by the time it was warm enough to plant them.  Some of my tomatoes have been neglected, but I’m confidant that I have more.  I just have to figure out which plants are which.  Silly me, I didn’t mark them.

More ice-cold water is also in order.  It has no calories, and yet it will burn calories.  Also if you drink a glass thirty minutes or so before you eat a meal, you’ll eat less food.  As far as eating less, I’m trying to cut down my portions.  I don’t know how they got so big!  I’m also going to do what I can not to finish off my children’s plates when they are full.  It’s a bad habit but I can’t let good food go to waste!

There is one diet item that I use but I don’t feel I abuse it.  I drink Slim-Fast shakes from powder.  Generally I only have one a day, if I have one at all.  I just don’t feel comfortable replacing a good deal of my meals with those things, but replacing one is okay, it will help me to shrink my stomach.

Well, I’m off to sew bags.  I was recently given the task of sewing some of the haversacks.  The things are huge! I just can’t stop talking about how big these things are.  Anyway, I have to get twelve done by Monday and I’ll need all the time I have available to get them done!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

6 Responses to Weight Loss: It had to become an issue for me sometime.

  1. Great article! I was a stick all my life too weighing 116 lbs when I graduated from high school…. And then between those college beer-guzzling days and having two kids also, etc., I was a rather pudgy STICK :)… I remember actually being DISTRAUGHT when I went from a size 7 jeans to a 9 when I was 19. Body issues anyone? And then, after two kids, I weighed around 185 pounds/wearing a 16/18… and I wasn’t even 30 at the time! I finally lost it all doing Weight Watchers/the South Beach Diet in 2004. Anywho… just wanted to mention that I drank Slim Fast post-pregnancy in ’88/’89. And, as I recall, the fat and carb content was INSANE, which I didn’t realize until later. They may have changed the formula since then, but it couldn’t hurt to check!
    Best,
    Kennedy

    • Cici Ladybug says:

      I checked and I have no problem with carbs. The fat is mostly in the milk you use to mix it. They suggest skim, I generally use 1%. I use powder cause I’m insanely against artificial sweetners like aspertime and such. All in all I just need to relearn moderation. I’m not cutting out fat, carbs etc., just trying not to go overboard on them. I figure, a crash diet is just going to take me down to the goal temporarally, but a gradual change will get me there and I won’t have to struggle to keep it off. No offense, but the idea of turning to weight watchers or Jenny Craig is not appealing. I can manage around twelve to twenty dollars a month, but a dollar a pound plus whatever I eat in a month bought seperately from my family’s groceries would break my families budget like an elephant on a pogo stick.

      • I like that… elephant on a pogo stick! LOL…I’m glad to know that those shakes don’t have a lot of carbs. They definitely must’ve changed their recipe then. And I misspoke in saying I did Weight Watchers the first year when I started dieting in 2002. I didn’t eat Weight Watchers frozen dinners, nor did I actually join Weight Watchers. I have no interest in sitting around talking about food for an hour every week and having to submit to public weigh-ins.

        No, I have an older cookbook that Weight Watchers put out in the early 90s, and I used quite a few recipes from that. And I did a free TRIAL online membership for Weight Watchers where I downloaded more recipes and diet plans. I think they had just started doing the whole POINTS thing back then, and that was too much of a hassle for me. So, I didn’t follow that either. I was teaching full-time at that point, and too busy shuttling between work, taking my son to football practice, .and trying to keep up with grading papers to bother with all that. I just pretty much followed their PHILOSOPHY. Then, after a year, I hit a plateau at 150 pounds for like three months.

        So, I decided to read a couple several diet books. I liked 8 Minutes in the Morning by Jorge Cruise and the 1st South Beach Diet book, which made a lot of sense to me. Between South Beach and exercising anywhere from 30-40 minutes/day I lost 25 pounds – for a total of 60. Yippee! Prevention Magazine even did a story on me in the April 2005 issue, which was pretty cool. Then, unfortunately, after having a hysterectomy in 2008 and not being able to exercise for THREE months, I gained 10 pounds, and then I gained another 10 after my dad died, but I’m slowly working it off.

        And I’m with you on artificial sweeteners. They’re really bad for you, but I still have my 1 or 2 Diet Pepsis/day…. can’t help it. I can’t drink coffee…

        But anyway…. GOOD LUCK! Enjoy those shakes! 🙂
        Kennedy

      • Cici Ladybug says:

        Hehehe, well they do have carbs, I just don’t sweat them ^^ I’m a sugar fiend, always have been. Even if I become diabetic I’d probably send myself strait into a diabetic coma rather than cut sugar out of my diet! In the powder though, there’s only about 18 in the powder alone, and they estimate 30 total with milk, but it again goes back to what type of milk you use. If you use whole milk, expect at least the fat content of the shake to be higher.

  2. dreamrei says:

    If you drink your coffee black it has like only 5 calories and like one or two a day is supposed to be good for you. Lucky that I like it black, huh…

Leave a Reply

