Stuff…Lot’s of Stuff!

Quite a few things crossing my mind: computers, kid’s meal toys, meeting Laurell K. Hamilton for the first time, reading & reviewing, gardening, games, sewing, and writing.  Wow, that’s actually quite a bit! No kidding, I got a lot on my plate! I’ve been working more at the greenhouse, though that doesn’t necessarily tie into my gardening.  It does keep me from doing the many tasks I’ve gotten myself into, not including my normal chores.  It’s been so long since my last real post.  I’ve been writing, but posting on my blog hasn’t made it up the list of things to accomplish before I pass out.  So, here I am, making the attempt  I’ll probably just cut this into bits and pieces, or not even touch on most of the things I really want to post about.

So, lets touch on meeting Laurell K. Hamilton.  I got to meet Laurell! I got to meet Laurell!  My husband and I spent over 24 hours without children.  We drove three hours and spent the entire time talking and having fun with each other.  My husband purchased a special suite for us, where I nearly spent as much time getting ready as I did when before my wedding.  I’d planned my outfit, makeup and hair in advance, so the time spent the day of was just putting it all together.  My husband, who’s maybe read her Ravenloft book, decided to stay, even though he thought that he was going to be bored the whole time.  Quite happily, he wasn’t bored, quite the opposite, he had a great time!  I had a great time!  She took questions from all of us (I got to ask two questions! ^^) and I’ll be damned if I wasn’t as entertained as I would have been at a stand-up comedy event.  Later I even got to have my picture taken!  But not just me and her! I got a couple’s picture of all four of us ( Laurell, John, Jarred and Me) I will never forget it.  My one and only disappointment was that I didn’t get a personalized signed book, just a pre-signed one, but I’d say that was a minor thing.

So, now I have a new book that I’m not letting myself read.  Why? Because I decided I wanted to start the series from the beginning so then I can review it in order, all 20 books, and that’s not including the short stories, which I probably should do as well.  I’m working on Guilty Pleasures right now.  I even got my friend to promise to start the series from the beginning with me, and I even got her husband to do the same.  Today he pulled a prank on me though, he pretended he had read the new book and then on my answering machine said that she (Laurell) had killed off a character that’s been in the series since near to the beginning.  I screamed, called him and bitched at him.  Then he told me he was pulling a fast one, and I bitched at him some more.  So, look for reviews here soon.  I’ll be doing one on Guilty Pleasures as soon as I finish, even though I’ve read it many times now.

Well, I’m done for tonight.  Maybe I’ll hit on the other topics later on.  We’ll see how everything hits me tomorrow.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

