Times, They Are A-changin’: Kid’s Meal Issue

I’ve wondered what I want to do with this blog.  I’ve had a terrible time getting anything done because I’ve had so much to do.  I still want to use this to help my writing, however not so that untalented fakes can steal my work.  As far as talking about what goes on in my life, I figure that what I do may be uninteresting 90% of the time, so what does it matter if I share that boring bit of my life.  Most of the time I just want to exercise my fingers and my mind so that I can get the words out in a coherent form so that other’s can understand me for once.  Trust me, the brain-to-mouth process is just as confusing.  But other than writing about me, what do I want to do?  I think I want to make people aware of things however trivial they may seem.  Things that on their own may not seem like a big deal, but when you take a step back you realize, “hey, this isn’t good.”  I’ll start small this time though.  I want to tackle children sized fast food meals.

Anyone with a craving for a big mac and a child will see that the kid’s meals have been changing.  There are more options like fruit instead of fries, and milk or juice instead of soda.  I think the nutritional value of fast foods has been raked through the mud enough and anyone that wants to complain about greasy fast food making them fat can really just die.  You weren’t given a  big mac and forced to eat it at gun point.  You know that oils, sugars, and salts can go straight to your thighs if you eat them too much.  I see no point in demonizing an institution that anyone with a brain could see was a decadence anyway.  You were already craving the burger, you just didn’t want to cook it.

So, what am I setting my sights on?  The toys.  Now, don’t get me wrong!  The toys were always a little cheap, but am I the only one noticing that more and more places are giving out paper toys???  I first saw it with cracker jack boxes, they would give you a little square of paper with an animal face on it or something, then you’d follow directions and have something to put on your pencil.  Granted, not many people eat cracker jacks now, but then Subway changed to the reusable bags with little cards inside.  Still, no problem until they go from the proper cloth, to a flimsy plastic which almost no one brings back. They were giving toys to customers that brought one back, but that may have changed already.  Hell, just recently they changed to a Green Lantern themed kid’s meal and in one, my son got a flimsy cardboard mask, a flimsy cardboard ring I had to origami for him, and a flimsy cardboard wristband that was no better than the old Burger King crowns, except the crowns had more to them.  I thought it was neat when there was a “make your own space shuttle” cardboard sheet in one, but it just looks like they’re getting beyond cheap.  Perhaps it’s subway’s way of getting away from the fun little toys entirely, without seeming to.  I’ll tell you if this is the case I’ll just go back to sharing a foot long and a bag of chips with my son and giving him juice from our refrigerator.

Subway isn’t the only one that has done it to.  I got Arby’s the other day, and two children’s meals since the two-year old is growing like a weed (we got charged a full child admission for him when we went to see the new Transformers movie!)  We come home to find that the boy’s have been given another flimsy cardboard sheet with fire trucks that need to be folded and manipulated together.  I saw maybe a few hours of play in each, after the hour of construction that I would have to do at least for one.  Then, I would be finding flimsy cardboard pieces of fire trucks for months in my house.  Was I wrong?  If all the fast food places start this, the only option will be to buy a big thing of nuggets, lots of fries and then portion it all out at home with our own beverages,  that way we can take the money saved from the toyless meals and get them actual toys.

Now, one may say why is this an issue.  The issue is what this is a reflection of.  Either the companies are getting greedy, or the economy is just so bad that they decided to cut back so that the prices of the meals didn’t skyrocket.  Perhaps it’s a bit of both cause the prices of food has been going up little by little.  Notice how your sandwiches don’t look as full anymore?  They slice the cold cuts thinner instead of raising the prices.  You’re paying the same amount for less.  I’ve been observing the same thing with other items like Belly-Washers and yogurt.  I have a Belly-Washer bottle from when I first moved here to Iowa, and compared it to a recently (as in within the last two years) purchased one and what did I find?  The bottles weren’t exactly the same size.  There is a half a cup difference in the sizes, to be exact.  A half a cup!  Same overpriced juice, half a cup less volume!

I read Cracked.com articles, and read the comments most times, and I saw in one comment once that someone believed that prices were going up with the exception of food and housing or something silly like that.  I hate to break it to them, but the price of everything is going up, the companies are just being extremely sneaky in how they go about it.  You never notice a couple of cents here and there, and you won’t notice a few ounces of product missing.  They are nickel and dime-ing us, people.  By the way.  Wasn’t the bailouts supposed to help the economy?  What did all those CEO’s do with all that money the government gave them?  Where are all the jobs they were going to give people?  The bailouts only helped the heads of the places they were given to.  The CEO’s put that money right in their pockets, and the jobs they were supposed to give people went to India.  I know because I hear them over the phone for 1-800-Flowers all the time!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

