Hawaiian Hazelnut

It’s that time again! Time for me to tell you about some of the new coffee’s we got at the Greenhouse!  We have two that are organic versions of previous varieties, and one quite new one! For your pleasure I will be reviewing the new flavor which is Hawaiian Hazelnut.  I’ve honestly been drinking it off and on all week, but I was able to write my first impressions from the very first cup back on the 26th of July.   This is what I wrote down for you to browse.

There is a bit of an after taste.  It’s been a while since I drank my coffee black but I don’t think it’s nearly as foul as the Christmas Variety that was old.  Black, there is a hint of Hazelnut and the aroma is what you’d expect from a Hazelnut coffee.  However, this is Hawaiian Hazelnut so I have to wonder how does it make this blend different from the others that are simply marked “Hazelnut.”  Perhaps it’s the region that it was grown in, or perhaps it has something to do with the roasting or flavoring process.  I was told that if you concentrate you can maybe detect some coconut.  It’s not a strong coffee, but subtle.

I sweetened it with four sugar cubes.  Every time I use the silly cubes I keep hearing “one lump or two?”  The inner me says “Neither, I want FIVE!!!”  Sugar fiend much?  It helps to mellow the bite out but the hazlenut flavor stands up to the sweetening.  I think this would be a good “Thinking” cup of coffee.  Good for sitting at the computer on a cold afternoon trying to figure out how to screw with your characters some more.  Two percent milk is what I’ll finish up with.  My favorite part about adding cold milk or liquid creamer to my coffee is that it cools down faster, allowing me my caffeine fix that much sooner.  I’d probably prefer to wait for this one to cool.  Milk does it no good.  It doesn’t taste bad, but it’s gone past mellowed and on into warm coffee flavored milk.  It just isn’t a strong enough flavor to stand up to the milk.  There are still hints there.  Perhaps if it was brewed stronger.  I must admit , I find it difficult to judge how much grounds I need to brew in the twelve cup coffee maker at the Greenhouse, which is incidentally where I’m drinking it.

I like it, and I believe my dad may as well.  (He did so much that he took every bit I had at the house back with him to Kansas)  Well that is all for now! Enjoy your new coffee, everyone that has some, and happy Java!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

