Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton

Today, I’m going to be reviewing the third book of the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton called Circus of the Damned. It was published by Ace in 1995 is 329 pages long, and takes place two months after the events of The Laughing Corpse.  It was also featured in an anthology with the first two books called Club Vampyre.  The copy is on loan, and I have been given no compensation for a favorable review other than my pleasure of knowing that I’m putting my opinions out there where everyone that cares to read it would be able to see it.  So, we all clear? On to the review!

It’s been two months since our last glimpse into the alternate St. Louis of Anita’s world.  Everyone wants a piece of the new master of the city, and they are all turning to Anita for information.  Despite being a pain, Anita won’t give up Jean-Claude.  There also seems to be a group of rogue vampires killing off members of an anti-vampire group called HAV (Humans Against Vampires).  She’s still trying to avoid Jean-Claude and his attempts at seducing her, but a new vampire has come into the picture that wants her as his servant too, and he’s not nearly as reserved in pursuing what he wants.  That’s not nearly as frightening as her attraction to a new guy named Richard Zeeman, a junior high science teacher who is connected to the monsters somehow.

Yes, there’s a bit more attempted seduction on the JC front.  Edward is back, looking for the daytime resting place of the new master of the city.  Of new characters we meet Alejandro, the ancient master vampire that also wants Anita, Mr. Oliver who is also wanting to know where the master of the city resides, there’s Larry Kirkland a new animator at Animators Inc., and Stephen the Werewolf.

The sexy levels are a little higher in this book.  JC is back to trying to seduce Anita in her dreams as well as doing what he can to get her to admit to being his human servant outside of them.  Also, she first meets Richard when he’s naked in a bed with another naked shapeshifter.  Strangely, despite their unusual first meeting, Richard manages to get Anita to agree to go on a date with him.

I first read this book fifteen years ago, and to this day I love it just as much.  Anita flashing back to Phillip when she’s interacting with Richard is almost heart-wrenching, certainly her concern for him as a human in the monster world is understandable.  I would still recommend it just as heartily as I did back in high school.  People new to the Antiaverse will be pleasantly surprised with how things end up, and it is a great re-read in my opinion.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

