What’s your middle name? Do you like it?

Yeah yeah yeah! I know! Using their generic prompts to make a post.  So sue me!  There’s some story behind my name, my middle name included.  The question wouldn’t take up a decent post, but I thought “Why not?”  So, real quick I’m going to do this.  My maiden name is Cecilia Avis Babcock.  Depending on where you look it up, my first name (Latin) means either Blind or Musical, my middle name (also Latin) means Bird, and though I don’t remember where it’s derived from, my last name means Lord of the Fighting Roosters.  Hows that for name symmetry?  Do I like my middle name?  Well as a child I was a little embarrassed by it.  How many grade schoolers would have let me survive knowing my middle name was Avis?  I was already hearing “Bad Cop”, a lame taunt yes, but to a six-year-old it was enough.  I love that I have an unusual name.  I have fond memories of groaning whenever an adult would start singing Simon and Garfunkel’s song.  As an adult though, I’ve come to realize that I’ve always been pleased with my middle name.  It’s unusual, and pretty.  Sure, it’s also the name of a car rental place, but I like it.

Just a quick note, my nickname Cici is also the name of a pizza place…my middle name is a car rental company…but my husband’s is a Jewelry store…Go figure!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

