Luke, I’m Your Sister?

Okie, I’m going to let my geek flag fly today.  I’ve been searching the internet galaxy for a “deleted” scene.  I’ve seen pictures that may or may not have been Photoshop’ed and I’ve come up not with what I was searching for, but it prompted me to write this post.  I am talking about a scene in The Empire Strikes Back in which Luke and Leia “make out”.  If you don’t know who I’m talking about, you have been living under a rock, that’s all I got to say, and for those of you that do know who I’m talking about, don’t judge.  Just hear me out I have some things that I want to say from a writer’s standpoint.  Read on if you’re game!

Okay, first off why do I want to find that scene?  I like knowing the origin of things.  I like seeing original deleted scenes that got the ax, but more importantly I want to see if it seriously is as bad as Cracked made it out to be.  We all know the OTHER scene where she kisses him in the med lab, that’s not the one I’m talking about.  The picture I see is of them standing up, he’s fully dressed and in full health and they’re suggestively close.  That’s the picture, but I have no scene that it goes with.  Now I do suspect that it could be Photoshop’ed of her and Han with Luke’s head superimposed on to Han’s body.  Luke and Leia’s issues aside, it intrigues me.

Now, some of you will know that George Lucas says that he took the first third of his story and made STAR WARS, then later in 1981 they put the “episode IV: A New Hope” tag onto the beginning.  You can believe that or not, you’re choice, but let me play Devil’s Advocate real quick.  What if he did?  People use the Luke & Leia relationship thing as a reason why he didn’t plan squat.  Now, does that really prove he didn’t plan it?  Think about it real quick.  Incest, even on a minor level like that happens.  There are people who have had romantic relationships with people before finding out that they were related to them, it’s not an unusual occurence, just an uncomfortable one.  It is entirely believable to me that Lucas wrote the gist of it out before making them into a movie.  Why would he do that?  Perhaps the idea to make them into siblings didn’t occur to him till later in the writing process.  I can’t tell you how many times things have gone in a different direction for me as a writer, why wouldn’t George Lucas be the same?  And you don’t want to change previous actions that are believable.  Even in a movie script forcing your characters into a mold that doesn’t fit them causes problems.

Most people who have a normal upbringing would like to think that had they been separated at birth they would instinctively know that the person they’re having a romantic relationship with was a sibling, but it has actually been scientifically proven that it’s being brought up in the same household that causes them to put their relatives in the platonic pile.  I’m not defending it, just saying that just because it was an uncomfortable subject doesn’t mean that it’s proof of George’s laziness.

Anyway, I found a bit of the original comic, still not the actual scene though.  Ah well, maybe some day…

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

