30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 1

Okay, I’ve been seeing people on Facebook posting about what they are thankful for.  Apparently they’ve been at it for a few days.  I’m getting to it late, but I figure if I start count now I’ll be thankful beyond Thanksgiving!  And really, why does thankfulness have to be centered around one Holiday?  Especially one that should have been called, “Thankful the Natives saved our Asses so we could turn around and repay them by killing them off and stealing the land they lived on” Day.  I still celebrate, don’t get me wrong, but it is a crappy premiss for a holiday when you think about it.  Anyway, I do want to show what I’m thankful for, but not in a one sentence “here’s some kudos to this thing” type of way!  I’m going to devote an entire blog post to the person place or thing that I’m thankful for!  So here we go!  I’m thankful for…

Friends to listen when other people suck!  This is nothing specific and yet usually is specific things!  But I know that when someone has really pushed my buttons, my friends will be there to listen while I rant and rave!  I do this one first because I had need of someone to just let me rant, and because God is kind, I had someone to do so!  The issue today was in relation to the Flower Arranging Industry.  Mostly centered around FTD, Teleflora, and 1-800-FLOWERS.  Those mentioned are wire service companies.  They put up pictures of flower arrangements and allow people to buy them on the internet.  That, in itself is a good thing, but they use stems of flowers that are fully open, full of flowers, but most of all they enhance their pictures to optimize their display.  If you don’t understand that turn of phrase, let me use some words that might go better…photoshop, airbrushed, cut and paste.  People expect their arrangements to look exactly like the pictures.  We try, but no one can make them identical, just really similar, like fraternal twins.  It is why when I make flower arrangements I don’t take pictures of the ones based off of a wire order unless they are designers’ choice because they will not turn out as good and would be like me comparing my friend Rachel to the super model Heidi Klume.   Anyway, there were other points that I’d had issue with but since this is a thankful post, I’ll refrain.  Long story short, I had a friend to groan to when I’d had enough and wanted to get it all off my chest, and for that, I’m grateful!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

