30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 2

Alright, I’m continuing my 30 days of Thankfulness.  Hahaha, thought I’d forgotten right? Well, today one little one made his awesomeness shown, so I’ll write about him.  And so, today I’m thankful for…

My son Brandon.  Truly, if it weren’t for him this family wouldn’t have happened.  I got pregnant with him at a time when I was prepared to give up on his father.  We’d gone through a lot of rough patches, and I’d had enough.  I was at MEPs in Kansas City, going through the morning long ordeal to go to boot camp and become a Navy woman.  Anyone that goes through the process knows that they give everyone a drug test.  Well they also give the ladies a pregnancy test at the same time.  I failed, ofcourse.  That was the first time I knew about the little guy.  I didn’t know what was going to happen from there beyond the fact that I was not going to get rid of him in any way.  I could’ve gone back after having him since my physical was good for two years, however after having him I didn’t want to miss out on that much of his first year.

He came into the world five weeks premature, which should have warned me that he’d lack my patience in things.  Despite being early, he was sent home after five days on an apnea monitor.  I don’t believe the medical field has invented anything so nerve-wracking as that monitor.  He had it for a  month, but since then he’s been a healthy guy.  Nine years later he stands up to my chin, so I’d guess his height to be about 4’6″ and I’m driven to tears every time I realize how much he’s growing.  He’s exactly the type of boy I’d want; creative, imaginative, a gentleman, and just an all around good kid.  Despite some selective hearing issues, he doesn’t cuss, doesn’t get into fights at school, and is usually well behaved.  He’s a bit of a talker, which I suspect I would have been if things were different, but he’s polite and doesn’t mind playing with girls as well as boys.  Even at nine, he looks like his dad, but with my hair.  I thank God every day for him, just as I’m thanking him now. And so, on November 5th I’m telling you all that I’m thankful for Brandon.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

