Post! A Post to You All!

Time to blog again.  It’s been a while!  I’ve tried to post a few times but they keep getting interrupted by life, and then by the time I come back, they don’t seem to matter much.  Half the time I write this stuff thinking it’s  a bit narcissistic to think people give a hoot.  And yet I write about this trivial stuff anyway!  I guess that makes me at least a little narcissistic.  Honestly, it’s not that I think what I have to say is profound, but there could be an individual out there that might find what I write entertaining.  I like to share, sometimes maybe a little too much.  Why would anyone be interested in my mundane life?  You tell me.  So, I still got your attention?  Very well!

Wonder-Boring Powers Activate!

First thing I’d like to share is my “new to me” computer desk.  I acquired it from the curb while I was on my way home.  I am not too proud to admit it, in fact, I am more proud that I got a computer desk for free!  My old desk was a surface and a drawer with a brown faux wood cover over particle board.  Cheep material and design, but it was serviceable.  It was also bulky.  My “new” desk has a lighter toned faux wood surface that comes off with tape.  I know this because I used packing tape to keep things closed and moderately in place while I moved it.  I was not liking the feel of a drawer hitting my shin.  When I took the tape off, some of the decal came off too.  But it’s okay.  The top surface of my desk is less spacious than the large clunker, but it has a return that just barely fits my keyboard and mouse.  There is a space to put my tower down below without having to have it on the carpet anymore!  The top is also open, so it easily fits my monitor and speakers.  The part that caught my attention as I was driving by was the built-in shelf on the side with a hanging file drawer on the bottom.  Originally it was supposed to be a cabinet, two shelves and the drawer but I’m assuming the cabinet door got busted or something cause all that was left was a magnetic device intended to hold the door closed.  No matter, though!  I took off the magnet and now have a third shelf that is large enough to fit my largest drawing pad, a shelf for journals and paperbacks, and a shelf for notebooks .

It was a bit of a one-woman adventure getting it home!  First off, it had a sign on it that said “Free for the taking.”  Had it not, I knew the lady that owned the house, she works at the preschool next to my house.  I would have just asked her about it, but since there was the sign, I was good.  With the confirmation of the sign, I proceeded to mess with my toddler’s car seat in order to make room for the desk, in the back of the Cruiser.  I was not as successful in unhooking that Chinese Finger Trap of a car-seat as I’d liked, so I ended up driving home with half the darn thing hanging out the trunk.  The only thing keeping it from falling onto the street as I drove was a corner of it was wedged into the trunk door, fully lifted I might add.  Look up a picture of a Cruiser then imagine this sticking in it on one side so that the shelf was laying down and behind the driver while the desk was sticking up wedged under the trunk door.  Better yet, let me give you a little visual

Put this  Into this 

Anyway!  As I’ve described to my friends, I drove home at a speed that would have made Mrs. Daisy complain.

So, I got it home safe, got it out of my trunk and for a while it just sat behind the car like that.  I quickly came to realize that I hadn’t yet taken the paper off and that someone could mistake it as being on our curb now.   For all intents and purposes, someone could think it was still “free for the taking.”  So I rushed out while lunch was heating up and wiggled and carried it inside my garage, where I was certain it could not be mistaken as being curbed.  Eventually, I mentioned to my husband that I’d gotten a new desk.  He was not terribly impressed.  It sat in my garage all of two days before my patience wore out.  I downed a mental can of spinach, and moved it through the breeze-way, up three steps, and through my kitchen.  My only assistance, God himself who was basically my spotter in this endeavor, making sure I didn’t break anything.  You know, like the window in the door to the breezeway, or the desk that could’ve buckled under its own pressure while I figured out how I could get it over the third and final step without pulling a weightlifting maneuver that I was positive I couldn’t pull off.  There was the very real fear that while I was tipping and lifting the desk that I would accidentally send it down the other set of steps leading down into my basement.  I had images of a desk going down, disintegrating into a pile of kindling by the time it reached the bottom.  Even if the desk did survive the fall down, if I couldn’t get it up three measly steps, how in the world would I get them up a full flight? NUH UH! Thank you God, I never had to find out!

So now I have an upgraded desk just in time for the new Star Wars: The Old Republic game!  And that is the other new thing I want to cover before I finish the post.  See I grabbed the desk at the end of the last beta test weekend for the new game that will officially be released on the 20th.  We got pre-ordered basically the moment it went up, and registered the next day.  Because of that, my husband was able to beta-test on two weekends, me one, and starting in a few hours, they will start to send invitational e-mails to the customers that pre-ordered and registered for early access! Meep!  I expect I’ll be playing quite a few Twi’leks with the hope of making visuals for a fan-fiction I’ve had brewing in my head for years! *rubs hands together in anticipation*  I will play other characters too, but my character in the fan-fiction looks like a Twi’lek.  Long story, maybe I’ll touch more on it later.

Well, it’s time for me to go do my daily exercise before I go to bed. Good night, or good morning, whichever you’re at in the present moment!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

