Bite the Hand that Feeds

Okay, apparently yesterday a man by the name of Paul Christoforo had a bad day in the Customer Service industry.  And when I say a bad day, I mean he was letting his Jerk Flag fly all over a customer.  When Dave e-mailed the company Ocean Marketing about the status of his pre-order, he was treated nigh contemptuously by Paul.  For those of you wanting to read the whole kit and caboodle direct yourself to this http://penny-arcade.com/resources/just-wow1.html , and after … maybe enjoy a bit of Web-comic! Anyway!  Dave decided to call attention Paul’s poor Customer Service abilities.  Yes, I’m jumping onto this bandwagon, cause especially with the way the world is becoming, people like this should see their seeds sown.  And so…

This Paul person has learned nothing.  In later interviews after the company he was representing dropped him, Paul is quoted as saying “If I had known, I would have treated the situation a little better.”
Referring to the email thread, and in regards to Mike Krahulik he said, “I didn’t know who that guy at Penny Arcade was.  If I had known, I would have treated the situation a little better. PAX is a great show. What he does is what I’ve been idolizing since I was a kid. It’s admirable he’s put that together. He has a lot of connections, ones I want too.”

Seriously? I and many gamers are scratching our heads at this view.  It’s okay to treat the individuals that are going to use your product like trash, but if it’s someone with the influence you covet you would be more courteous?  I fail to see your logic, Paul.  You really don’t seem to give a hoot about anything but money.  The fact that you aren’t pursuing legal action against Penny Arcade (for what I wonder?), Dave (again…what?), or the gamers that threatened you and your family (I can see this one, as your family shouldn’t have been involved) doesn’t mean you are trying to preserve your image.  If image were an issue, this whole fiasco wouldn’t have happened.  What it means is that you don’t want the people with influence to black-list you from the whole Gaming Community (I.E. Money)

Real quick, I’d like to call you out, since no one else seems to want to.  I remember reading in your E-mail to Mike that you were going to run a smear campaign on Mike, Penny Arcade, and PAX.  In fact you said, “Your sites amateur at best my son could put together a better site than yours and you run PAX ?? Wow , Ill put my marketing team on a smear campaign of you and your site and your emails , I have about 125 dedicated people to run PR , Blogs , Articles , Videos you have no clue who I am . Thanks again

I can’t wait for the Penny Arcade smear campaign!”

Then in an interview you were quoted to say, “He called me a bully, but he was being a bully … especially when he emailed me out of the blue, saying ‘That’s f***ing s***ty, you’re banned from PAX,’ I was like ‘Who the f*** are you? That’s how you introduce yourself? … I don’t want to call him out, but he could have gone about that a totally different way, he could have said, ‘Hey, I run the show, that email was a little unprofessional, if you don’t do something to apologize I don’t want you at my show.’ But he just came at me and said, indirectly, ‘Hey, f*** you, you’re banned from PAX.’ Is that what you’d call professional? I wouldn’t.”

Yeah…I’m calling you out Paul.  First off that is a pathetic smear campaign. I couldn’t help but snicker at it…that’s what “125 dedicated people” can come up with?  Look man, just give up and hide out in your hole until the storm blows over. You’ve already proved how much of a pathological liar you are “I know the Mayor”, the “125 dedicated people” looks to only be one…you, and from then on everything you say will be suspect, except maybe the overall horrid outlook you have towards people you rely on for a paycheck.  You may not think that the consumer has any influence, just like the people that don’t tip and are now finding their dinner recipts being posted on twitter, but we are, and we have connections.  In the words of Anonymous “We are Legion. We do not forgive. We do not forget. Expect us.”

For more articles and a few fun bits of media, check out:

http://penny-arcade.com/resources/an-update1.html

http://ingame.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/12/27/9745218-jilted-gamer-teaches-vendor-price-of-rudeness

http://ingame.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/12/28/9770514-chastened-gaming-rep-responds-to-internet-infamy

http://www.tomcroom.com/?p=8582

http://imgur.com/a/co8js

Ocean Marketing

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

