Sad Times Indeed

It’s time for another blog.  I’m going to talk shop.  And when I say shop, I mean the greenhouse, and making flower arrangements.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love making flower arrangements, and it wasn’t like we didn’t know that a good percentage of our profits were going to come from funerals.  We knew.  It was one of the first things that the previous owner told us when we were in the process of buying the business.  Certainly I feel sympathetic to every family that comes to order a casket spray, what I will never be able to get used to is when the dearly departed is a child, or God forbid a newborn!  I’ve been fighting tears all day, especially when making flowers to go to the viewing.  I can’t help but think of the mother in these cases.  I know I would be devastated if anything were to happen to my children.  I’m sure, the reality would be much worse, and so my heart goes out to the mother mostly, though the father is also in my thoughts, but marginally really.

That’s mainly what I wanted to talk about.  It’s late, and I must go to bed alone cause my husband isn’t feeling too well, and the couch seems to help.  Only consolation I can find in that besides the fact that he is so sweet when he’s not feeling too good, is that I get to see him more than usual.  I haven’t seen him as much since being at the greenhouse in the mornings, and I’ve missed him.

I don’t normally do this, but I just can’t help it this time.  I’m placing a small memorial on my blog for a baby I never knew, but feel compelled to do so anyway.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

