Bookworm on Books

I want to talk about books today.  It was sort of a theme for me today.  I did more reading today than I have in a while, but not nearly as much as I used to in the old days!  Part of my day was spent searching down a particular book that I wanted to read to my children.  I’m not talking about children’s books either.  At least not for bed time.  I’ve tried reading them during the daytime, but I’ve hardly ever been able to get either to stay put long enough to finish one.  Bedtime is a different story though.

I’m a little unorthodox in that I read more advanced books to them when I’m trying to put them to sleep.  It started when my oldest was about nine or ten months old and singing stopped working.  I was at my wit’s end on how to get him to go to sleep while still assuring him that I was in the room, but giving him some distance.  I could get him to sleep by holding him, but putting him down almost always woke him back up, and I had a job at the time that would not allow for me to spend several 15-30 min holding sessions to get my baby to sleep.  So, I picked up a copy of The Lord of the Rings and started reading out loud to him.  It was a little tough for him in the beginning, but he got used to it and soon it got to be something he expected, even desired as he got older.  In fact, I still read out loud to him.

On top of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, I’ve read nearly the whole Harry Potter series to my oldest, when he was about four.  I’ve also tried to get a hold of the Star Wars saga, but that set was a little splotchy, I have done some Star Wars novels outside of the saga as well, including some of the Jedi Apprentice books.  I started doing the Inheritance books (Eragon, Brasingir, Eldest etc.)  but for some reason those didn’t go over as well for me personally.  I even read some Laurell K. Hamilton before he was old enough to really understand.  I’ve tried books closer to his level, but it becomes about seeing the pictures, and that really defeats the purpose of reading them to bed, so I stick with the books that have little to no pictures in them at night.  Personally, I remember my cousin reading me to bed with a chapter book, and just loving it!  I loved that it made me use my imagination, which was so abundant at that age to begin with, and that use of imagination would lull me into sleep so well!  It wasn’t until my oldest had already been in pre-school and pre-k and showing signs of having an extensive vocabulary and comprehension that I heard it could be beneficial for children to be read to on a regular basis.

I was told that I had started reading when I was two.  I certainly don’t remember a time that I couldn’t read I suppose, so perhaps there’s a good bit of truth to that.  I know I didn’t really find a passion for reading until middle school when my mother gave my sister and me a set of Harlequins that she’d received in the mail.  My main genre of choice is Romance, but I do like a lot of everything.  Laurell K. Hamilton, my favorite author is a bit of Paranormal Romance Horror Mystery (and Erotica, depending on which books you picked up)  She’s written some Sci-Fi, a Star Trek TNG novel by the name of Nightshade, which I can be honest and say that I wasn’t impressed with.  She’s also written a few straight fantasies like Nightseer and the Death of a Darklord, although perhaps being that it is a Ravenloft book that it could be considered Horror Fantasy.  I do enjoy many genres though.  Currently I’m trying to read Orson Scott Card to my boys, and from there I may try the Star Wars Saga again.  That would make the little Star Wars fan happy.

As for me?  I’m still reading the Anita Blake series, but I took a little break from Blue Moon and started reading one of my Christmas presents (Kiss of Shadows)  I also have been sampling a bit of V. J. Deveroux but I’m sorry to say that I’m not really getting into her book.  It’s called Special Delivery, and though the sex scenes are well written, I’m not getting into the story-line.  I’m also reading a book called Dance of the Seven Veils, and it hasn’t been able to catch my attention any better.  Perhaps this is a sign…Well, I was just reading Ender’s Shadow and couldn’t stop.  Maybe I just need to find some good Sci-Fi and take a break from all the ahem other books.

Well, I’m glad to have found Ender’s Shadow.  It’s a parallel novel to Ender’s Game.  Some would say it’s a sequel, but hit is set in place around the same time as Ender’s Game but in a different perspective so it can’t really be called a sequel.  I thought I’d try to keep Ender and Bean’s stories side by side for my son.  I’ve read all of the Ender’s Saga, but not all of the Shadow Saga, so once we get past a point in Shadow of the Hedgmon it should all be new for me!

Well, I’m done for now! Off to do something…don’t know what but I’m going to do it!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

