Obligations, Dahmeet!

Okay, so everyday won’t happen, but I’m a woman with a family to take care of, and a husband to emotionally support so you’ll have to forgive me the loss of the resolution.  We still have weight loss on the books, and as long as I get myself down to 138.5 or less eventually, I’ll have done my part.

Speaking of doing my part, I stopped writing in Revolution to write this silly thing, but as soon as I’m done writing something short here, I’m going back to it.  I figured out that she’s going to be a web-comic artist.  Jennie Breeden is my inspiration for that, though my character took a different spin to real life inspiring a Web-comic.  I started the story out with the main character trying to kill herself, and I’m kind of torn by that decision.  On one hand, the circumstances that led to her making the decision were nothing I’ve fully experienced, so I’m not sure how plausible it is, but I believe if I’d gone through the same thing, that I would be just as devastated, and without firm support by the rest of my loved ones I might not be of a sound mind around anything sharp.  I also have to wonder how that decision would affect how she looks at the world later.  Would she be like a recovering alcoholic and have the temptation come over her when things go wrong, or would she be stronger for having gone through the experience and realizing that the person that brought it on wasn’t worth taking her life for?  I am not going to be nice to my character, and I wonder how she’s going to take it.  I’d like to think her mindset would be the latter, but she’s a little shaky here in the first chapter, and this is the calm before the real storm.  I suppose I’ll just have to see.

I’m also toying with having someone show up in the beginning to show the reader his importance in her life, even though he hasn’t been an active part of her life for years.  It’s one of those “the one that got away” moments and I didn’t want to have her show up after all these years, and have her focusing on one person (negatively), and then later this deep-seated love come out of left-field for another.  I want the idea planted into people’s heads that though person A totally messed her up, person B has had a place in her heart for far longer.  I don’t know.  I just don’t want it to be a Bella-Edward situation “Oh, I totally love you for no other reason other than the fact that you’re a drop dead gorgeous man and I’m a totally plain Jane!”  Yeeeaaah, not going to do that to my readers!  I want the romance to be real, not fairy-tale real.  I want the reader to fall in love with them because they have endearing characteristics, and a lovable personality.  When they grin, I want my reader to squish with my character.  Oh, and don’t expect a “pan to the moonlight” moment when the characters are together.  They are not going to “take each other into the heights of love and pleasure…” and that’s it, though you can paraphrase it later like that if you want.

Well, I’ve been at this for too long now.  Must go and give my real writing a bit more tweak!  I have an idea of how I want the first chapter now, though believe me the rest of the story is up in my head in bits and pieces, I just gotta fill in gaps!  Those darned gaps are the Devil!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

2 Responses to Obligations, Dahmeet!

  1. I totally COMMEND your refusal to commit to any New Year’s Resolutions! Why is it that at the beginning of the year we feel compelled to PROMISE to do something/or stop doing something (like over-eating or smoking) when, perhaps, through the year we’ve tried to stop smoking or whatever and did not do so, that we feel COMPELLED to make such promises just because the calendar flips over to a new 12 months?

    Maybe, I don’t feel the need to commit to exercising/eating right/not over-serving wino to myself (whatever) because I decided to lose weight sometime in April of 2002, and I lost 60 pounds by February 2004. And it wasn’t the big, bright ball dropping upon Times Square that made me do it….it was a WORD in cyberspace. The word OBESE…I wore a size 16 and didn’t consider myself obese, but, according to the AMA (and/or E-Diets.com) if you’re more than 30 pounds overweight, you are OBESE…which shocked me. I always obese people were folks who were more like 100 pounds overweight…but anywho…my point is, whatever it is you want to START doing or NOT doing in 2012 should not be foisted upon one’s person by guilt or a champagne popping on January 1 of any given year. People change if and WHEN they’re ready to do so…

    So, AGAIN, except for your weight loss, I commend your resolution not to make any resolutions!

    HAVE A GREAT YEAR!
    Kennedy/tenaciousbitch

    • Cici Brown says:

      LOL Well the weight loss was an ongoing thing from last year, I just put specifications on it when the calendar flipped. As far as blogging more, well I’ve been falling asleep at night before I can drag myself to the computer with viable blog post. It’s all drivel anyway!

Leave a Reply

