Automatic Disqualification for Sainthood.

I read an article Wednesday about a letter that was found defending one of the more prominent Catholic Priests that preyed on young boys, written by another clergy member.  Not surprising was that the author had more concern for the church’s reputation than the victims and was pushing for the priest to be brought back to work with families and spread the word of God.  Not surprising, until you look at the details and realize that the letter, which was not signed, still contains details that point to the identity of the author being none other than Mother Teresa.

First thing I’d like to ask is what message are they trying to get across?  Sure, no one is perfect, but it’s one thing to lust after a fully capable consenting adult and another to set your sights on an easily influenced child who you have absolutely no right to touch!  And why is it always boys?  Couldn’t these men have just…Oh forget it!  Even the mainstream Gay Community wouldn’t have these asses!  I know I wouldn’t!  But let’s get back to the rest of it.

The first steps have been taken to canonize Mother Teresa into a saint.  Does she really deserve it?  I know she was a great activist, and a lot of good was done by her to help others, but what was in her heart?  Was she doing it to gain fame, prestige in the Catholic community?  Maybe she was trying to guarantee her place in Heaven.  Apparently there was a side of the nun that the public didn’t see.  I hear that there were more instances of her siding with shady characters.  There was even a book published called Hell’s Angel that I might have to pick up sometime.

To my earlier question of why is it always boys, I’m sure there are girls in the mix there, but the fact that these men prey mostly on boys must make it seem much worse because they ‘re supposed to believe that homosexuality is a terrible sin.  Is it the fact that the priests don’t have any desire for adult men that makes it okay in the eyes of the Vatican?  Absolutely absurd if you ask me.  These people fight gay marriage with a hatred that makes me want to vomit, especially considering the double standard with their priests.  If you disagree and say that a gay pedophile is somehow better than a monogamous gay couple then I beg you to have your head examined.  Oh, and Fuck You!  I feel strongly about this issue.  Sure everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but if you don’t feel for the innocent victims that have had a part of their childhood taken from them, then I have no time for you.  You were probably given every opportunity to keep that part of you childhood for as long as is acceptable and take for granted what it would mean to have to grow up without it.  It is only by the grace of God that some of us grow up without becoming like the monsters that stole from us.  I’ve heard that the chances are higher for a sexually molested child to become a molester than it is for a child that had a normal upbringing. http://www.childmolestationprevention.org/pdfs/study.pdf a study for those of you interested.  Even so, I’m sure some would still be considered deviants due to some of our preferences in the bedroom.

I don’t want sympathy for me; my growing is done, my adjusting all but completed.  I want people to be more aware for the ones that are being preyed upon now.  I want to give support to those that need it.  You aren’t alone.  I’ve lived too many years treating my abuse as a dirty little secret.  I’ve felt shame for what happened to me and my inability to protect myself, but I know now that I didn’t do anything wrong.

One more point as far as the priests and any other pedophile are concerned.  How many actually show true remorse for what they did to the children, for how they’ve caused that child a lifetime of confusion, depression, and just all around messed them up in ways that could take years of therapy to help, if it can even be helped?  How many?  I know  they are sorry they got caught, but they all go back to the old ways in one way or another.  They are never cured and if one of their victims becomes a pedophile, the cycle will just continue.  Again I ask, how many show remorse for the children they victimized?  How many truly repent for what they’ve done?  I’ll tell you.  NONE.  Not a one will really see anything wrong with what they’ve done, they’ll either deny that they did it to begin with, make a preposterous story up for why it wasn’t intentional, or just have such a skewed view of the world that they believe their victims want it.  It’s rape really, because a child usually doesn’t know what’s going on untill it’s too late, are threatened in some way to keep quiet, or the molester uses some other tool to get what they want despite the child’s wishes.  I mean really, what child would want to have their innocence taken away from them?  It’s not the child’s fault, but they can grow up thinking it was, or that something is wrong with them, and they might even be condemned later by people for the urges that come all to early in their development.

And again, I come back to a woman who was being considered for sainthood decided to throw her support for someone who ended up victimizing many children, and I begin to question her true motives behind all her good deeds.  Likewise, I wonder what kind of group would defend people like that while fighting everything else.  It just doesn’t make any sense to me!  And if she does get canonized it will make even less sense to me.  Actually it will make perfect sense cause a group that will protect child molesters are perfectly capable of canonizing someone who wasn’t exactly saintly either.  But in my book, she’s no saint, he’s no holy man, and the whole situation should disqualify him and all the other priests from life.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

