Lapsang Souchong Butterfly #1

Surprise!  I’ve come back to give you a Coffeelog, although I have to admit, it’s not a coffee variety I’m reviewing, but a tea variety from the Metropolitan Tea Company Ltd called Lapsang Souchong Butterfly #1.  The package reads: A superior leaf lapsang souchong offers a crisp character with the remarkable and heady aroma of an oak fire.  It’s a black tea, and part of a package of free tea samples we received at the Greenhouse to decide on what new varieties we’d like to start carrying at the shop.  So, I haven’t been given money, and we may not actually start carrying this variety, though with a name like that, how could you not?  By the way, I was thinking of trying this one first but what cinched the deal was my toddler trying to help mommy by opening the package for me.  Well, then…

Immediately, I smell a woodsy aroma, almost like a smokey rub.  The flavor is smooth and you can taste a bit of the smoky woodsyness in the brew.  It’s a nice dark caramel color and even cooled it hasn’t gone bitter.  I don’t normally like unsweetened tea, but I could finish this cup without worrying about sugar.  In fact, I’m not.  Seriously, I’ve never enjoyed a cup of tea this fully since my first sip of Jasmine tea twelve years ago.  I enjoyed this tea very much and I believe I’m going to try to push for the butterfly when we start discussing it.  I think this would go great with the applewood rub and sea salt.

Well, expect a few more teas in the next few days!  Until then, take care!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

