Provence Rooibos

“Your mother was a hamster, and your father smelt of elderberries!” Yes, it was my love of Monte Python and that one line from The Holy Grail that decided which I would choose next.  I was going to choose between the chamomile or the green tea, but then I saw what was in the Provence Rooibos and I couldn’t deny it!  It’s also from the Metropolitan Tea Company Ltd. and it reads: Flavory with a floral and fruity bouquet; perfumy lavender notes.  Inspired by the ‘joie de vivre’ of France.  I find it funny that before really reading this bag of tea that I thought of a line from a French character, and the tea itself was inspired by a French expression.  The ingredients include rooibos (or a red tea leaf), elderberries, rosehip pieces, billberries, lavender blossoms, rose flowers, and natural flavors.

The smell is very fruity, or to be more specific, berry.  When it’s brewed, the smell is not nearly as strong as it was when I opened the bag, but you can still clearly smell the berries.  I can detect a bit of the rose more than the other ingredients.  Don’t ask how I know what a rose tastes like, I just do.  Although it only tastes like the beginning of a rose, and not the aftertaste.  I’ll say this right now, I don’t recommend eating a rose because I have yet to eat one that didn’t have a horribly bitter aftertaste.  Back to the tea though, I think this one would flourish with some sugar, and the subtle hints of berry in it would be refreshing change in our fruity teas which are mostly orange I believe.  I think I prefer the lapsang more though.  I could drink this without sugar too though, and that’s a good thing.  I think this would be a good addition to our rooibos selection though.  Nummy nummy num!

Well, that’s all for this tea.  Until next time!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

