Pai Mu Tan

Pai mu tan is the next tea I will review from the many samples we at the Garner Greenhouse received from the Metropolitan Tea Company Ltd. The package reads: A white tea offering jammy flavor with sweet notes and a delicious lingering finish.  Good body with a satisfying cup.  The Luxury ingredients are White tea.

And now my opinion, such as it is…

It’s almost like weak tea, in fact I believe white tea is supposed to be naturally lighter than green or black teas because it’s harvested before it fully matures.  It’s just as smooth as the others were, with a little more of a tea-like flavor.  It’s a lighter flavor, though.  Personally I think sugar helps it.  I know some think that sugar ruins tea and coffee, but I don’t most of the time.  The tea soothes me.  In fact, I’m starting to think the green would’ve helped to keep me awake more, but oh well!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

5 Responses to Pai Mu Tan

  1. Eléonora says:

    Green tea has more caffeine than black tea, so no wonder it keeps you awake more 🙂 It may also contain more caffeine than coffee so, go for the green tea boost!

    • Cici Brown says:

      You know, I always thought it had less than black tea, I knew it had more than White tea though. Personally I prefer Green tea because of the antioxidants, but that isn’t to say I dislike all other teas 😉 I’m actually looking forward to all the tea sampling I get to do! hehehehe

  2. Eléonora says:

    Actually white teas contain less caffeine than green teas but more antioxydants than greens. I know I know I sound like an old teacher hehe, but I made a lot of research on that. The reason why is because it’s less “processed”. Here some info I found for you on a site “white tea vs. green tea”=”Studies have shown that white tea has a concentration of antioxidants that is three times higher than in green tea. Essentially, white tea contains the same concentrations of antioxidants as the young and fresh tea leaf buds that are still attached to the bush.”

    • Cici Brown says:

      Hey, you learn something everyday! Still prefer green though. Hehehe I know, but I’m a caffeine junkie at heart! Besides, I doubt we’ll actually start carrying the white since it’s pricier and the tea in our shop just doesn’t go very fast. Sad to say, I know, especially because we actually have some great tea! By the way, thank you so much for the information! I tried to locate your blog but all I found was your twitter, and I don’t do much twitter. I have far more to say than that little text box allows sometimes.

  3. Eléonora says:

    Oh yes I see, for some reason, you can’t click on my blog weird…anyway, I appreciate our conversation, I also learn everyday, even “small things”…that’s why I check other people’s blogs too..If you want you can take a look at my “humble blog”…hehe http://buddhashand.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

