On Fan Fiction Stories

I’ve realized that most of my recent posts have been either private or password protected, so I thought I’d give some of you something to read.  I don’t even know why I made the Harry Potter Fan-fiction password protected other than the fact that it had mature content, and I’d rather not have someone’s mother angry at me.  I’ve been looking at my older journals and finding story bits that I put in there, which is why the Fan-fiction came out.  I have a small bit of fan-fiction in my arsenal because who hasn’t read a book and thought “What if?”.  There are sites out there, my favorite being FanFiction.net .  In there you can find all sorts of fan-fiction, from popular movies, TV series, Cartoons, Comics, Books, and famous literature, even crossovers!  But anyway, here I go, writing about fan-fiction and how I feel about what I find.

Ready-Set-Go!

What I Like

Generally speaking, I like things set within the world and certain timelines in stories and series.  If a series has completed, it’s still alright to go inside a point in the cannon and maybe write a “what if” story, or maybe just show a different perspective.  Example, when an author writes in first person perspective, it’s refreshing to see what someone thinks is the point of view of another secondary character.  I found one where they took the events of a chapter, and wrote it in the perspective of the other character in the scene.  Unfortunately the fan-author only wrote about a page worth, which was disappointing.  It did however encourage me to write the same scene myself, but with more detail and more insight into the character.  It was my first time trying to put myself into the body of a guy, which I found absolutely fascinating!  I hope I did the work justice!  I like it when characters are believable in the fan-fiction I read, and I try to stay true to that in what I write, however there are times when you have a character that everyone thinks they know, and I wonder, what if they’re motivated by things you aren’t quite aware of?  Like the Harry Potter fan-fiction.  You don’t really get to see too much into the supporting and secondary characters.  You are just able to speculate on everyone’s motivations besides Harry himself, so I decided to follow Hermione instead, and bring a character forward that you hardly get to see too much of a good side of, but there is something not so evil about him, and I wanted to explore it a bit.

What I Don’t Like

Plainly speaking, I’ve seen so many “(favorite main character) is a highschool senior who just got cast as (Romeo/Juliet) in their high school play.  What ever shall they do when (favorite paired love interest) is cast as (Juliet/Romeo)???” I really just want to scream when I see them.  I can almost understand when the thing they are writing a fan-fiction for is already set in a high school setting, almost.  However, the concept is used too often in normal angsty tweenie things for me to really get excited over it in fan-fiction.  Plainly speaking, it’s overdone, and not terribly imaginative.  The only thing worse, maybe is “(someone) has too much to drink and wakes up afterwards with a naked (so and so) next to them.”  It’s too much.  Also, I pass over anyone who posts a summary that writes “I’ve never written a summary before and don’t know what I’m doing, but I swear the story is good!”  In all fairness, a good deal of those are young pre-teens just getting into the writing scene.  Their concepts may be good even, but if they can’t even write a bit of the idea that made them decide to write the fan-fiction in the first place, it doesn’t inspire confidence in what they are putting out.  Also, I found one story that was almost decently written, however they decided to make one of the characters be perpetually a victim and it killed the interest I had in the story.  I’ll just put it out there, she wrote a Hunger Games fan-fiction focusing on Haymitch and Effie where we find out Effie is a cutter (as in she cuts herself whenever she feels she “fails”) and somehow this endears her to Haymitch.  In the first story she has Effie try to kill herself, then flush her medication in front of Haymitch, becoming president Snow’s “private assistant” and in a later story she gets raped by another character.  Again, I say the fan-author was able to write competently, but I found myself believing the story less and less, until finally I didn’t want to know where she took the two characters.  I couldn’t see a redeeming or lovable quality in either.  I didn’t finish the first story, and didn’t go back to the other either.  My main dislike with most stories though is that with most, you could change the names of the characters and have an original work.  Some, still wouldn’t hold up even as e-published works, but their characters only resemble the original author’s characters in name and general looks.  Personality wise, they’re either entirely out of character, or the cliff-notes version.

Why I Don’t Write Fan-Fiction Regularly

I want to be a professional.  I want to have my own base of work, not some shadow of another artist’s work.  There may be something to be said about authors that take classic literature and make it relevant with a fresh point of view, but even then it’s just professionally published fan-fiction.  If I want to be taken seriously, I can’t devote much of my time to the little “What if’s” that other authors inspire me to.  Briefly I tried to write a sort of Star Wars Fan-fiction, that didn’t involve any of the major characters from either of the sequels, which would actually have more of a chance of being published if I did well enough.  That was the most recent attempt, but I stopped trying to write it when I realized that my original work was suffering for it.  I would have more chance of publishing something that didn’t tie into another person’s work, and if I can’t make it on my own…But I know I can.  I know that once I finish a work, I’ll have something that will interest others.  So, I don’t anticipate finishing any of the fan-fiction that I have on hand, nor do I see myself writing the Hunger Games fan-fiction that started brewing in my head.  So, instead I’m going to focus my energy on what I’m working on, occasionally posting it on here, but restricting access to them.  Who knows?  Maybe someday I’ll work on those bits of fan-fiction just for fun.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

