Meaty Reads! This One’s Short, but the Book Isn’t!

I started reading from a trilogy by Jacqueline Carey .  The first book in this trilogy is called Kushiel’s Scion.  Technically it is actually a series and this particular book is number four in it, but the books before this one were centered around Phedre, and the next three have Imriel as the main character.  I’m still on the first book, and it’s quite meaty.  I usually eat up books, but this one is so large it’s taking me several days to read through it, that and life does demand I pull away for a while and do stuff.  If you’re interested in checking them out, I would greatly recommend you start with Kushiel’s Dart.  They are all mostly stand alone books, however there is so much in the other books and you get to fall in love with characters in all of them.  Of course I always suggest you start from the beginning of a series nine times out of ten, but I’m a lover of the background and growth of characters.  I will warn you though, Jacqueline Carey is an in depth writer, and her books are extremely hefty!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

