Taking a Break

I’ve been working hard on my Short story!  But I need a break, so I’m just going to brainstorm in a blog, and maybe work out some ideas.

I keep getting myself stuck.  I’ve rewritten entire bits, going from having him confront her, to having her just watch him and get uncomfortable.  All I really want them to do is resolve their issues and get together…or the other way around!  At this point I really don’t care which way they go, but the biggie is, which way is more believable for them?  I didn’t like the way it was going when he confronted her, especially because when you think about it, she really wasn’t being any way, really.  She made one comment that confused him, but other than that, she managed to hold down a bit of small-talk without really showing any peevishness. But not only that, he doesn’t seem the confrontational type.  She’s more confrontational than he is, I’d think, and that’s not saying too much.  The tension between them is interesting though.  Their past will probably cause some difficulties, at least for Bri.

I have to say, motherhood does keep one from getting focused at times.  Not complaining, I can manage, but there are moments when I’m just having the worst time getting ideas out, or trying to write myself out of the maze of words and the constant interruptions make it worse.  This is where I introduce my tools of writing.  Music generally takes a song or two to actually get me into the groove.  My itchy ring has gone MIA, but I’ve been thinking of replacing it since my smallest made it shorter.  At the moment, I don’t feel I need it.  I did find that putting my hair back in a pony-tail made me feel a bit more focused.  That’s probably a binding thing.  I do find myself more comfortable when I feel a good solid pressure on my body, whether it’s from a nice tight pony-tail, a leather choker, tight knee-high stockings, etc.

I am getting so tired of Oven beeps though…There is nothing more jarring, and more disturbing to a groove than a sudden beep beep beep!  There’s the preheat beep, the turn off heat beep, the cool down beep and the “I recently messed with the temperature of the over so it thinks it went back into preheat mode” beep.  Sometimes I wish my food would come in a pill so I could spend less time chewing and more time getting words out of my head.  One of those beer hats would be great too for getting liquids to me, otherwise I’m loath to use one of my hands to get a drink to my lips…I’m sure the image would send my husband packing.  Way to set a good example to the kids!  Well, with that unsettling image in your heads, I shall now run off to kick some page butt!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

