Work Brain! Work!

I stood in my basement, and stared at the stagnant coppery-looking muck rising from the grate and felt my stomach churn. Mud, it’s just mud, I said to myself, tightening my grip on the towel around my torso, my deep burgundy hair dripping onto the concrete floor. Who was I kidding? I wasn’t fooling anyone. With a heavy sigh I stomped up my stairs and grabbed my phone and a phone book. –Excerpt from Short Story

Okay, the first part of my short story I’m working on is being moved further ahead.  The sequence of events wasn’t working for me, so I had to juggle things around, and this will also cause some interactions to change.   Still, I had an epiphany while talking to Darrok about it.  My beginning was good though!  Do you know how hard it is to have a good eye-catching beginning?  How do I start it now?  My brain obviously refuses to work for me.  I had the beginning that it wanted and now it refuses to work for me! Stupid brain…

I’m going to run over to my recliner with my MP3 player and a notebook…something about scrawling on a lined page, feeling the ink glide onto the paper leaves me feeling like I’ve done something.  I know, it wastes paper, but sometimes I don’t have my computer with me when something comes up.  Anyway, I like the tactile feel.  This one’s just a quickie.  I really think I need to go to the recliner, or bed. Yeah, I think I just need more sleep!  Night Yall!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

2 Responses to Work Brain! Work!

  1. StaceyRose says:

    The plays I end up liking the most are the ones that I start writing in a notebook. They’re a b**** to have to transfer to e-copy, but I tend to fall in love with the story more. Maybe there is something to the tactile ;).

    • Cici Brown says:

      I agree! I tried just doing my notes digital…but there’s something about aggressively scratching out a word/sentence/paragraph/page/or three that makes one feel better…where-as deleting the same, just makes one depressed…Although when I have whole pages I have to throw out, it still makes me pout…

Leave a Reply

