I Hate to Nitpick…but Seriously…

I get forwarded e-mails all the time, and some I read, some  I dump cause I just don’t have the time to go through every single one…However, there’s one that I’ve gotten many times, and recently I thought, “Now, how true is this?”

After this previous year of people fact checking every single word the Political candidates said, I’ve started to wonder just how much of the things we share are accurate.  Is that picture really a picture of soldiers guarding the Nameless tombs during a hurricane or some other time when it was really rainy?  Is that picture of the hurricane about to hit New York the real thing, or is it Photoshop?  Well, the forwarded e-mail claims to be a copy of something Ben Stein said on a Sunday Morning News Program on CBS.  However, when you start to read it, there are hints that maybe the e-mail was just someone writing an e-mail, bemoaning the fact that the world is going to crap because God is being pushed out of the country and that if you agree, send the message on, but if not, no one will know that you didn’t…Am I the only one that read that and thought that if he’s talking on CBS about Holiday confessions, why is he now ranting on God not being in schools, and why the heck would he tell the viewers to “pass the message on”?  It seemed fishy.

I would like to make a point of saying that I am not attacking the person that sent me this e-mail, I am trying to spread a little knowledge to everyone that has seen this e-mail and thought the whole thing was fact.  Yes, there is an underlying message here, but if you have to make up stories to tell it, don’t pass them off as truth.  There are people out there that put out a message using an imaginary scenario in story form.  Usually they’re honest about the fact that they are using a fictional medium to convey their point.  It doesn’t dull the message.  I take offense to people trying to make their point with lies and partial truths and presenting them as full truths.  Anyway, the following is the e-mail I received:

Only hope we find GOD again before it is too late ! !

The following was written by Ben Stein and recited by him on CBS Sunday Morning Commentary.
My confession:
I am a Jew, and every single one of my ancestors was Jewish. And it does not bother me even a little bit when people call those beautiful lit up, bejeweled trees, Christmas trees… I don’t feel threatened.. I don’t feel discriminated against.. That’s what they are, Christmas trees.
It doesn’t bother me a bit when people say, ‘Merry Christmas’ to me. I don’t think they are slighting me or getting ready to put me in a ghetto. In fact, I kind of like it. It shows that we are all brothers and sisters celebrating this happy time of year. It doesn’t bother me at all that there is a manger scene on display at a key intersection near my beach house in Malibu . If people want a crèche, it’s just as fine with me as is the Menorah a few hundred yards away.
I don’t like getting pushed around for being a Jew, and I don’t think Christians like getting pushed around for being Christians. I think people who believe in God are sick and tired of getting pushed around, period. I have no idea where the concept came from, that America is an explicitly atheist country. I can’t find it in the Constitution and I don’t like it being shoved down my throat…
Or maybe I can put it another way: where did the idea come from that we should worship celebrities and we aren’t allowed to worship God as we understand Him? I guess that’s a sign that I’m getting old, too. But there are a lot of us who are wondering where these celebrities came from and where the America we knew went to.
In light of the many jokes we send to one another for a laugh, this is a little different: This is not intended to be a joke; it’s not funny, it’s intended to get you thinking.

In light of recent events… terrorists attack, school shootings, etc.. I think it started when Madeleine Murray O’Hare (she was murdered, her body found a few years ago) complained she didn’t want prayer in our schools, and we said OK. Then someone said you better not read the Bible in school… The Bible says thou shalt not kill; thou shalt not steal, and love your neighbor as yourself. And we said OK.
Then Dr. Benjamin Spock said we shouldn’t spank our children when they misbehave, because their little personalities would be warped and we might damage their self-esteem (Dr. Spock’s son committed suicide). We said an expert should know what he’s talking about.. And we said okay..
Now we’re asking ourselves why our children have no conscience, why they don’t know right from wrong, and why it doesn’t bother them to kill strangers, their classmates, and themselves.
Probably, if we think about it long and hard enough, we can figure it out. I think it has a great deal to do with ‘WE REAP WHAT WE SOW.’
Funny how simple it is for people to trash God and then wonder why the world’s going to hell. Funny how we believe what the newspapers say, but question what the Bible says. Funny how you can send ‘jokes’ through e-mail and they spread like wildfire, but when you start sending messages regarding the Lord, people think twice about sharing. Funny how lewd, crude, vulgar and obscene articles pass freely through cyberspace, but public discussion of God is suppressed in the school and workplace.
Are you laughing yet?
Funny how when you forward this message, you will not send it to many on your address list because you’re not sure what they believe, or what they will think of you for sending it.
Funny how we can be more worried about what other people think of us than what God thinks of us.
Pass it on if you think it has merit.
If not, then just discard it… no one will know you did. But, if you discard this thought process, don’t sit back and complain about what bad shape the world is in.
My Best Regards, Honestly and respectfully,
Ben Stein

You can find the Snoops.com article here.  It didn’t cover the mention of Madeleine O’Hare and her murder “a few years ago” so I’ve provided a Wikipedia link here, and I would like to point out that prayer hasn’t been taken out of schools…forcing children to pray in schools has.  And while I’m on the subject…what school in this country has taken “Under God” out of the pledge of allegiance?  I only ask because I know my son’s school still has the newest version of the pledge of allegiance, and when I was going to school they had it…  I found a few Snoops articles on the subject…

Now I hate to nitpick, but if people are going to analyze every nuance of the President’s tone, they should probably fact check their e-mails, Facebook shares, and twitters.  We’re all guilty of it, but it would seem to me, that if we live in the information age, we should probably try not to spread false information.

I love that everyone has their things that they feel strongly about.  I just don’t like people using my heartstrings for their own sick enjoyment.  I don’t like someone claiming that a well renowned child psychologist’s son killed himself just to prove their point that kids aren’t being disciplined.  I don’t like that people claim that the reason kids are bringing guns to school is because God has been kicked out of them, when what happened was compulsory activities that were religiously based were prohibited.  I don’t like someone putting out a video telling everyone that there is an evil man in Africa recruiting children for his army, then getting to see the pixelated behind of the inebriated director of the video on a street corner screaming profanities…I mean seriously…

Done ranting…I’m going to go decorate a gingerbread castle and try to ignore anything else that might make me feel like a Scrooge this year…

 

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

One Response to I Hate to Nitpick…but Seriously…

  1. dogfordavid says:

    Thank-you for the reminder to step back and pay more attention. I usually don’t let things like that slip through. Been way too tired lately.

Leave a Reply

