Find Your Joy!

I have a lot of things going through my head lately.  I’ve been trying really hard not to get brought down by current events.  I’m not always successful.  I will say, my house has not become a disaster yet…yet.  I’ve never been a fan of housework.  I have had a tendency to do more work when I’m upset, but since I focus on what’s making me upset while I do the work my house gets cleaner while my mood hardly improves.  It’s times like this, I turn to the little, and not so little things that bring me little bits of happiness.

Of course, the top of that list are the people I love.  I’ve spent a lot of time cuddling my children.  That first day, I shut out the world while my loving step-daughter sat next to me and just made sure I was okay.  My husband alternated between genuine grief and playful comedy.  My boys have constantly snuggled, hugged kissed and generally been the loving little men I’ve worked hard to raise.  In return, I’ve managed to get clothes folded and put away with the help of my older son, I’ve gotten dishes washed with much splashing by my two assistants, and there’s been a little bit of tidying up in the living room (not much, mind you, I’m still me!).  The past three days or so, I’ve napped on the couch with my youngest in the afternoon, and watched the other one while he ran gauntlets in Skylanders.  I joke around with my husband, do the little things that make him feel better, and he returns the good feels in return.

I find comfort in little things as well.  Baking homemade chocolate chip cookies for one.  The  remind me of growing up and helping my mother mix flour into the clay mixing bowl.  I realized as an adult that my mother had accounted for the hoards of humans in the house that would raid the cookie dough before she could bake them.  I always think about how I only have to look out for two others besides myself, so I end up with a lot more cookies.  I ply myself with my favorite soda, snuggle my fuzzy ladybug pillow pet, drink some coffee, and light a diamond candle. I play silly app games, read a good book, write a little on the blog, in my journal & in my stories, then stalk everyone on FaceBook. STALK ALL THE PEOPLES!!!
image

Then I turn around and think about killing Sims…just think about it for now. In light of recent events, I think I’ll let them live for a while…
Point is, it’s important to find your joy, to spend time with the one’s you love and be sure to tell them as often as you can how much you love them, and not let little things get in the way of your relationships. Be quicker to forgive then for silly mistakes before they get around to realize they were in the wrong. Don’t get so stressed about your spouse not doing exactly what you want them to, and apprecuate them for even the smallest things they do right. Most importantly, don’t put off building a closer relationship because they could be gone tomorrow.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

