Aaaaaand More Dear Old Love!

Hahahaha I couldn’t help it.  I walk away from it for a while, then I jump right back and read up on it’s tumblr!  It’s time for another round of Dear Old Love posts.   For those of you not familiar, Dear Old Love started as a book where each entry in it was a small anonymous sentence or two about someone they used to love, or were in a relationship with at one point.  Again, they can seem like they were written by your own exes at times.  Some are bittersweet, others are catty.  I can’t get enough of them!  I don’t post every one I see on the tumblr, but I do post the ones I like or the ones that hit home the most.  So, without further ado…

Off to College

  • 12 hours ago

You going off to college is a much larger obstacle than I anticipated. I can’t love you any less, even though I know you don’t reciprocate my feelings because of it.

Swipe

  • 13 hours ago

And all these years later I know if it was you that I let swipe my v-card I would now regret nothing.

Maybe They Can

  • 14 hours ago

Seeing you happy makes me really happy. But seeing you happy without me makes me really sad. I miss you, and I don’t understand why you can’t tell.

Confusion Clears

  • 1 day ago

We fell in love six years ago, only to meet again and promise to be together in another three, if we are not in relationships. I never told my boyfriend about this promise. Now you are engaged. I guess you werent as confused as you let on.

Still Hoping for It

  • 1 day ago

Even though it’s stupid, and I know you’ll never say it, I really would like an apology for the shitty way you treated me at the end. Part of me still hopes for it, though. Guess that makes me a fool.

Reconsider

  • 1 day ago

Sleeping with one of your closest friends helped me to get over you.  Also, I’d reconsider who you think your friends are.

Utterly Confused

  • 1 day ago

I read Dear Old Love and pretend it is you writing comments for me, especially the ones where you are utterly confused.

My #1

  • 2 days ago

It feels good knowing that so many of the songs I shared with you became your favorites on YouTube. I only made it up to number three, too bad you where my number one.

Punchy

  • 2 days ago

A friend of mine made a terrible joke about you, so I got really mad and I punched him in the face. Then I realized that if you were around, you’d punch me in the face for not being over you yet.

Dropping Everything

  • 2 days ago

Remembering you elicits more passion than I’ve ever had in my current eight year relationship with him. I know you think I hate you, but I would drop everything to have that passion with you again.

Because I

  • 3 days ago

I love you, but I won’t tell you, because I love you.

Skype?

  • 3 days ago

If I were to add you on Skype (you always use the same username for everything), would you accept?

Scents Will Do This

  • 3 days ago

In my most desperate and pathetic moments, your scent still lingers in my nose.  It is the last memory I have of you, and the strongest one yet.

Singing Our Song

  • 4 days ago

Sometimes I sing our song in the shower and think of you. I wonder if you ever think of me, but then I remember how mean you were to me.

Clarify

  • 4 days ago

Your best friend told me that I was the one but she is to be the wife. What does that even mean?

Prefer Hate

  • 4 days ago

I heard from someone that “hate” is not the opposite of love, but “indifference”. It is only until then that I have realized you don’t hate me, but you are indifferent towards me. And if that’s the case, I’d say I’d rather you hate me than no feelings at all.

Random Knowing

  • 5 days ago

We were holding hands & walking in the park. I remember when we accidentally walked into someone’s picture, and the person taking it said, “It’s ok, you’re a cute couple.” We weren’t officially a couple yet, but I thought: Wow, even this random person knows we belong together.

Painfully Aware

  • 5 days ago

I am painfully aware of your presence

Old Page

  • 5 days ago

Somewhere out there on a seven year old Myspace page I’ve forgotten the password to, pictures of you and I still exist.

Please Don’t Call

  • 6 days ago

Even after everything, if you were to call, I wouldn’t leave it ringing.  (Please don’t call. My heart can’t take it.)

Underlying Tone

  • 1 week ago

Is it just me, or is the underlying tone of all of our conversations, “We’re still meant to be together”?

Overtexted

  • 1 week ago

I crashed my computer trying to back up our text messages.

Giving Up

  • 1 week ago

I’ve decided to give up weighing myself, smoking, and talking to you. This isn’t going to be easy, but it is going to be good for me.

All for Equality

  • 1 week ago

I am all for equality but the fact that you didn’t pay for a single date will always be a source of pain for me

Ever?

  • 1 week ago

Where are you now? Do you ever think of me in the quiet, in the crowd?

Infiltrator

  • 1 week ago

Out of nowhere, you’ve infiltrated my dreams again. There’s really no need for that.

Can’t Be Sure

  • 1 week ago

In my dream, I stopped you from kissing me because I couldn’t cheat on my boyfriend.  I hope that would be the case in real life if the situation arose but I can’t be sure.

Body Close

  • 1 week ago

Your body is next to me, but your heart is still next to her.

Where the Hell

  • 1 week ago

When I get scared, I run. You knew that. And you said you would always chase after me. So where the hell are you?

Psychic Network

  • 1 week ago

I swear sometimes I could feel you missing me. Either that is really true and I am a psychic, or I have just completely lost my mind and craving so much for you to love me once again.

In Random Places

  • 1 week ago

Sometimes I wonder if you realize how much your memory haunts me. Not the bad ones, but the few good times we actually had. Like when you took me to the movies and we spilled popcorn everywhere, or when we walked around the mall and left notes in random places. I miss that.

Written Out

  • 1 week ago

It genuinely bothers me that I never saw what your handwriting looks like.

“Die” Might Be Extreme

  • 1 week ago

I don’t mean to sound like a jerk. I want to like your boyfriend. I really do so that it won’t be awkward when we hang out. But truthfully, I’m just waiting for him to die so I can have a chance to be with you. I’m sorry.

Despite

  • 1 week ago

I’ve been waiting to get over you so that I can finally let you go. I just realized that the key to letting you go is to accept that I’m not over you, I still love you and I miss having you in life, but life goes on despite all that.

Hour Drive

  • 1 week ago

Maybe I should’ve taken the hint when your dad always asked why I drove an hour to your house to see you.

Thanks

  • 1 week ago

Thank you for being my first love. And thank you for showing me how strong I truly am. But more than anything, thank you for leaving and making room for someone who can love me better to come along.

Trust Issues

  • 1 week ago

Your arms felt so home around me. I wanted to stay on that couch forever while you played with my hair. I don’t know what draws me in more, the fact I can’t trust you, or the fact that I don’t want to.

Liver Love

  • 1 week ago

I will love you even when you get liver spots.

You’re Back

  • 1 week ago

You were my first best friend, my first love, but you walked out on me 24 years ago. Now you’re back, filling up all the empty places you left. The difference is that now no one can know you’re here except me.

That Can Happen

  • 1 week ago

I don’t want you back anymore; I really just want to have sex with you. But I’m afraid that if I have sex with you again, it will make me want you back.

Kissin’ Sibs

  • 2 weeks ago

I tell you that you’re like a brother to me and you tell me that I am a sister to you…but I hope to kiss you someday.

Room Upstairs

  • 2 weeks ago

Sometimes late at night after visiting my family, I drive past the house where you used to live and remember all the things we used to do in your little room upstairs and wonder if your mom ever heard us.

Dignity Keeper

  • 2 weeks ago

I didn’t fight for you in the “Knock on your door, send presents, call you, text you” sort of way. You had made up your mind, and I concluded that if I had to lose you, I would make sure I kept my dignity.

Should That Help?

  • 2 weeks ago

For the first time in over a year, I admitted to someone that I was still in love with you. Why don’t I feel better?

New Confederacy

  • 2 weeks ago

I drive past your old house all the time. The new owners have put a Confederate flag up. I wonder if they are hardcore Christian Republicans, and if so, I wonder what they would do if they knew about the huge amount of gay sex we had in that house.

Good Trick

  • 2 weeks ago

A year ago you told me you didn’t love me anymore. So I told you I cheated on you. Somehow that made you love me again.

20 Years Later??

  • 2 weeks ago

The night you told me to we would make love for the last time I so tried to make the evening last. When you walked away I used all my willpower to not pull you back because I really did not think I was worth you. Now 20 years later I hear that all you wanted me to do was hold you there forever. How was I to know?

Brimming

  • 2 weeks ago

Remember that day, when I was too shy to tell you I still had feelings for you? So I pulled the brim of my cap down so far that all I could see were your feet. I knew you’d understand, but I don’t know if you smiled

Mooned Out

  • 2 weeks ago

The full moon and the stars remind me of you. I guess as long as they’re there, I can never get over you. I know, I’ve been trying for 10 years now.

Nothing Worse

  • 2 weeks ago

I really hope I’m not one of those people who still loves you and wants you years down the road when I’m with someone else.  I can’t imagine anything worse.

Ow

  • 2 weeks ago

I always over think every little thought, but it all comes down to this—I’m still in love with you. And you’re not still in love with me. Ow, my heart hurts.

Nicer Inside

  • 2 weeks ago

You were the only person that opened in front of me and I liked what I saw inside more than the surface. Do not get me wrong you’re beautiful, but you’re much nicer inside. Too bad I never had the courage to say it.

Heat & Humidity

  • 2 weeks ago

I still firmly believe it was the Florida heat and humidity on my Canadian brain that let that relationship last for 2 years.

College Tries

  • 2 weeks ago

I’ve slept with 6 boys since I got to college 3 months ago, and you’re still a virgin. I almost want you to sleep with some random girl so that I don’t feel guilty after we have sex for the first time- because you waited for me, and I got impatient…6 times.

Better Than Fine

  • 2 weeks ago

You always prided yourself on how good you were at revenge and I’m finding that the most vindictive thing I could have done was to be fine without you.  I am better than fine without you.

Horror

  • 2 weeks ago

Sometimes I think what you did to me was just a horror story someone told me years ago. But then I remember telling you no and you ignoring me.

Frameworking

  • 2 weeks ago

I hate how you set the framework for how I view love. I hate that you broke my heart in such a callous manner. I can’t wait for the day I rewrite the framework, with someone who knows what love really is.

Who’s Heavy Now

  • 3 weeks ago

You used to tell me I was too heavy to pick up, sit on your lap, or even lay my head on your chest. Well I’ve lost 20 pounds and you’ve gained a good 40. Who’s “too heavy” now?

Actor

  • 3 weeks ago

Considering how well I hide the fact that I’m still completely and utterly in love with you, I should move to LA and pursue a career in acting.

Wouldja?

  • 3 weeks ago

Would you believe me if I told you you’re still always on my mind?

Like to Check

  • 3 weeks ago

I convince myself that I am not a Facebook-Stalker whenever I catch myself checking your Facebook relationship status. I’ve dated 3 guys since you. I remind myself that I am happy. But I still like to check, now that you’re finally single.

Little Sis

  • 3 weeks ago

My little sister had a crush on you while we were dating; you broke two hearts, jackass.

Same Inits

  • 3 weeks ago

I guess I will forever love and regret my name because you’ve once told me that having the same initials makes us destined for each other.

They’d Reconsider

  • 3 weeks ago

I wish the girls you text behind my back knew how you treated me behind closed doors. They would reconsider wanting to be with you.

Supposed To

  • 3 weeks ago

Did you think me disappearing from your life would be easy? You’re supposed to miss me, dumbass.

On Me

  • 3 weeks ago

To celebrate breaking up with him, I paid the bartender $25 to give you “free” beer the next time you came in.

Singing Out

  • 3 weeks ago

You always told me to be quiet, that I was too loud. You never even enjoyed hearing me sing, to you or in general. Now I sing to everyone, and people like it. Not even random strangers tell me to quiet down. They only encourage me to take it farther.

Tea For

  • 3 weeks ago

I am a man who fell for you and let go of all my masculine dignity. I cooked, washed and reared our children while you enjoyed your “freedom”. Now you took everything away from me, including my children, I have nothing to live for. And sometimes on Saturday mornings when we used to go for a nice walk in the garden together, I still mindlessly make two cups of tea before heading out of the door. Only to realise you are not there anymore.

Didn’t Mean It

  • 3 weeks ago

I didn’t mean any of that. I was just so afraid.

Partially

  • 3 weeks ago

One night you told me that you don’t deserve unconditional love and it broke my heart. Partially because you really believe it, and partially because you can’t see how unconditonally I love you.

Two Hours

  • 3 weeks ago

It was only a one night stand and I’m not in love with you, but man, were those two hours good. I keep flashing back and craving your bed. I should’ve left that note with my number and the message, “last night was fun, call me”. I hope we bump into each other again; I could go for two more hours with a side of steamy.

The Effect

  • 3 weeks ago

Constantly trying to make me jealous isn’t making me miss you, but it is making me regret breaking your heart and turning you into this person I don’t even know.

Good Laugh

  • 3 weeks ago

I could always rely on you for a good laugh. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t cry even when you broke my heart.

Close My Eyes

  • 3 weeks ago

I close my eyes and see you still. In my dreams, we have nice, long chats.  I hope you’re happy together.

Stay Sober

  • 3 weeks ago

Funny when I get drunk I want to get in touch with you. I want to say I miss you and still have no clue why you did what you did. Note to self: stay sober.

Is It?

  • 4 weeks ago

People keep telling me it’s weird that we hang out as friends now—is it really?

Drawn You Then

  • 4 weeks ago

How I wish I could forget the way you look naked. When I realized  I can draw you perfectly from memory I wasn’t surprised. However, I know you would have loved posing for me. I wish I had drawn you back then, when you were mine.

Two Others

  • 4 weeks ago

You broke my heart and left me for the girl you loved. I just recently found out that she was cheating on you with two other guys. I feel like that’s supposed to make me happy, but now I’m just angry at her for mistreating you.

Even He

  • 4 weeks ago

When I started dating my husband, I told him everything about you. Even he was sorry that we couldn’t end up together.

Just Ours

  • 1 month ago

I want to believe that our sex was special. That the stuff we discovered with each others’ bodies and the things we did are ours and ours alone.

Hole Query

  • 1 month ago

I saw you for the first time the other day in years, and it hit me that I don’t miss you as much as I thought I did. But what is this empty hole in my chest then?

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

3 Responses to Aaaaaand More Dear Old Love!

  1. dogfordavid says:

    “Please Don’t Call”, “Despite”, and “Frameworking” hit the closest for me at the moment…

  2. Pingback: Can You Guess What I’m Gonna Write Next??? « Ladybug's Blog

Leave a Reply

