Belated for Valentine’s Day

I wanted to post a very special picture from a comic I follow.  I’d post a link but it is an adult web comic and I don’t want to offend anyone since there’s nakedness and sexual stuff…lots of sexual stuff.  Seriously, don’t search it out if any of that stuff in a comical environment offends you.  And if you’re under 18 because that’s just naughty!  But I did screen capture one of their posts with a convenient block out of the most “offensive” visual.  Still, I’m hiding it below my read more, because I’m a coward 😉 Enjoy!

OglafObligationDayWell, as you all are probably aware, it was Valentine’s day a couple of days ago.  However, I was feeling it long before it came around.  We generally try to start getting ready earlier in the week so that the day itself isn’t a total poop-fest. I was ready, up untill about 5am when my son wakes up with Diarrhea and vomiting…

The next morning, at roughly 3:30am my other younger boy had some problems with vomiting as well… I went to sleep that night dreading the early morning wake up that would either be me, or my husband.  Neither of us were hit.  Big sigh of relief all around.  Then about 4:30 am on Valentine’s Day I wake up to the dulcet sounds of my husband struggling in the bathroom.  Hand sanitizer has been my friend!  He was still struggling on his birthday yesterday, and still doesn’t feel up to snuff today.  Our children, on the other hand bounced back within 12 hours of their malady.  And me, you ask?  As soon as I felt the tale-tell signs yesterday, I reached for the pepto.  I have residual aches today, but only some unpleasantness.  No, I will not go into details.  If you want details, you can come over here and baby my ass!  Yeah, I like that idea! Come over here and spoon feed me chicken soup and pepto, then clean my house and do my dishes!  God knows, no one else does it when I’m sick…otherwise leave me to be Super-Mom, able to shrug off sickness with the slightest of ease! Pft!  But no, really it’s been an interesting week.  The Greenhouse did very well this year, and I was caught up by our normal closing time! It was pretty neat!  And on top of all that, I didn’t get sick till the day after! Woohoo!!!

Okay, I’m not cynical about Valentine’s day.  It’s still a favorite, even though I don’t get flowers usually.  My husband tries to get the big velvet roses, but he hasn’t been able to see them for a while.  For me, it’s not about being forced to lavish gifts upon your loved one, it’s more about celebrating love in general.  My father would get me and my sisters valentines (at some point, I can’t remember if he’d always done that or just started doing it when I became a teen) I get valentines not only for my husband, but for my boys and my step-daughter as well.  I’d be as bad as a grade-school Cici throwing candies at all my friends with lipstick kiss marks on the cards if I could (and if any of them lived close enough for me to lavish them)

Still, there are some people who believe that the holiday is out there to sell candies and make single people feel bad about not having someone.  Are they right? *shrugs*  To each his own.  Some people believe that you should be romantic all the time, and not just for one day out of the year.  I say, if a person wants to be romantic all the days, then go for it!

Ramanceallthedays

So, I leave you with that.  Don’t just see Valentines day as a day of Obligation, but as a celebration.  And if you’re of the mind, don’t treat all the other days as just days, but use each and every one to show that special someone you care.  Tell them they look nice, that you appreciate them for this or for that, randomly surprise them with flowers, or that expansion pack they’ve been wanting, maybe even a candle *cough*diamond candle*cough*!  Take  few minutes to hold them, give them a kiss on the cheek…or whatever you feel like that is between two consenting adults.  Don’t tell me…I may use it in a book!

Show everyone you love how much you care.  Make every day, Valentine’s Day!

 

 

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

One Response to Belated for Valentine’s Day

  1. Rachel says:

    I think the world would crack. After all, today’s cocks squirt nothing but obligation!

Leave a Reply

