Holy Bread Mold In My Vajayjay Batman!

Um…while perusing Facebook, and in the comments I happened upon this! She also did a followup here…First off, it has been years since I’ve used one of these products, but oh my holy Jesus! Apparently, this isn’t an isolated incident!  

Let me explain for those of you that don’t click on links.  A woman in Texas found mold on one of her tampons back in March of last year.  She e-mailed the company, and was given a template-enriched insert-important-details-where-needed reply as well as coupons for more.  It is horrifying that this should happen!  I know this story is almost a year old now, but seriously!  The amount of concern for feminine health is abominable!

I like to hide my feminine products like any other chica…or at least I used to, but it’s becoming more an more apparent how shamed us ladies have become about our bodies! Women are out there trying to find healthy reusable alternatives to the disposable norms that women have out there (pads and tampons) and being shamed for it!  The Facebook post that  led me to this story is rife with negative comments over the picture of reusable crocheted cotton tampons it had posted.  Companies are banking on different ways to “help” women hide their feminine hygiene products!  Hell, someone close to me had even suggested that the pad I have in a pouch with my son’s pull-ups should be removed to keep another male that was going to watch my son from becoming embarrassed from seeing it…excuse me?  These tampons are encased in a plastic applicator, sealed in more plastic and hardly ever looked at without said applicator because they’re gross and should be hidden from polite society!  But it happens to all ladies!  We all have had  a monthly at least for a while anyway (with a few exceptions, and I don’t intend on overlooking you ladies) and if there is a man out there that is ignorant of a woman’s troubles, then he is few and far between.

This is what our shame will lead to ladies.  We may very well stick something unsanitary, and unsavory into our nether regions, and not have the added bonus of it being phallic and attached to a celebrity (still not a very good idea, but at least there’d be some pleasure accompanied with it…) I’m not saying I am totally in love  with my mens.  I don’t want to tout to the world how beautiful an experience it is, but seriously, we have to get over the icky stigma of it and pay better attention to what we do for it.

As mentioned before, there are reusable alternatives out there.  Cloth menstrual pads for one, the menstrual cup for another, and as mentioned above crocheted tampons.  I don’t know how well any of these work, and if you decide to make your own products like the pad or the tampon, absorbency sanitizing and all those other issues would be up to your choices.  There are plenty of advice forums focused on the sanitation and construction of said products.

I guess, after the initial outrage, what I really want to say is, why?  Why do we put our faith in these companies?  Why do they have such contempt for their clients?  Why do we care so little for ourselves?  Why don’t we take our health more seriously?  Lets stop being lazy and naive!  Occupy your vagina!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

