Behind…Isn’t That the Story of my Life?

Okie dokie.  I’m sure any nail connoisseur is familiar with the Chanel nail polish called Peridot that has caused such a rage.  Now, the polish was released in the fall of 2011, however I only recently happened upon it when I was looking into information on my birthstone, the Peridot.  It didn’t take me long to find that there were bottles of different brands that have put out a possible dupe, which was kind of comforting to see.  If a six dollar bottle of polish makes me cringe, a twenty-five dollar bottle of nail polish would have sent me into seizures!  Still, it took me two weeks do do it, but I found my dupe!

Chanel Peridot Nail Polish

Now why would I care in the first place? I mean, I like a shiny polish here and there but I’m not about to go find the cheapest versions of the most popular designer brands I can find.  No, I don’t really care for the latest trends.  Me and them just happen to coincide sometimes. Like now.

What got me about this polish was that it was a bichrome shade that gave off hints of green or gold depending on where the light hits it. It helps that the Chanel brand was called Peridot. I’m going to be on the lookout for the other bichromes, maybe pick up a bottle or two at some point.

Okay, so my dupe is from the Sally Hansen’s Lustre Shine line called Plume 005.  Now, the shine is all dependent on lighting, but in nice clean sunlight you can see the bichrome just fine!  My camera at night in my house with the flash is not an ideal comparison picture, so I had to wait till the lighting was good and also catch my nails at their best. So, here it is!

A recent Dupe shade of Chanel's Peridot.

A recent Dupe shade of Chanel’s Peridot.

I don’t do nail polish dupe reviews, and this certainly isn’t the start, but I had to share this particular one.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

6 Responses to Behind…Isn’t That the Story of my Life?

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    That color is GORGEOUS! I love the different tones.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. Nice dupe find! I have the original peridot and use it sparingly due to the cost factor

    • Cici Brown says:

      Thank you! I was pretty happy with it myself! I’m about a third of the way through the bottle! ^^ Hehehe! I found it in a Wal-mart here in Iowa. If you have a way of finding it, maybe you could do a more thorough comparison! There’s no way I could convince myself, much less my husband that it’s a fiscally sound venture to buy a $25 bottle of polish.

      • Oooo….I’m going to check my local Walmart, thanks for the info. 🙂 lol, there’s always the “cost per wear” investment argument for $25 polish….if you wear it 2x a year, it could last 25 years, leading to it being $1/year 😉

        If you have time, please stop by and view my latest Shoe of the Week 🙂

      • Cici Brown says:

        Deceptively simple! I must admit, I’m not as into shoes as I’m into polish 😉 and even that is only a mild obsession. For me, I wear my polishes more than just 2x a year and it just seems silly to buy something that expensive that’s likely going to start chipping within the week.

Leave a Reply

